CREATING MEMORIES: The Visit and the Quick Escapade

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

Brown Modern Jewelry Photo Collage.png

“My aunt has ears that listen, arms that hug and hold, a love that’s never-ending, and a heart that’s made of gold.”
— Unknown


The Introduction

IMG20221208095859_00.jpg

IMG20221208100049_00.jpg

Hi, people of Hives. How lovely is the day! Another wonderful day is gifted to us by God which is beyond measure. Today, I’m going to share a day that was remarkable since I visited my 88-year aunt who is close to me and my family and has a wonderful discovery of our property.

273811923_921458975228392_3183021382303754769_n.jpg

To some, elderlies are useless thus they were neglected and abandoned. This mindset was not practiced by our family. My aunt is a retired public school teacher, the second sibling on my mother’s side of the family. She’s great, generous, and kind to everyone. Many remembered her as a soft-spoken woman in their place with a heart full of love. She used to be a good listener and loved us so dearly. Although she is aging, our family loves her tenderly.

Let me share this extraordinary day of mine.


The travel

IMG20221208095950_00.jpg

IMG20221208100112_00.jpg

My aunt is residing in a remote area the barangay Managase, Tabogon, Cebu. It takes 1 hour and 14 minutes if you opt to walk, and is 13 minutes by motorcycle. It’s 5.9 km away from the barangay where I reside. The registration of my motorcycle has not been renewed yet, thus I rode on a habal-habal (local dialect) which means that the passenger will hire the chosen motorcycle for transportation and will sit closer to the driver. It ranges from 2-3 passengers who will sit closer to each other. I had chosen to be alone because the road to going there is full of struggles.

IMG20221208095959_00.jpg

IMG20221208095933_00.jpg

IMG20221208100014_00.jpg

The road is rough, the driver needs to be careful in driving due to potholes along the way. Good thing the weather was fine it’s not slippery. No road is too far for this journey since it is for my loved one. I was having fun taking photos of the green scenery around me. How calm the world is. The place is far from pollution, and perfect for relaxation. Everything is surrounded by green. The vast field used to be pasture land, and agriculture is one of the forms of living here.


The Visit

IMG20221208115545_00.jpg

IMG20221208120550_00.jpg

I felt ecstatic and at the same time worried upon seeing my aunt in her state. She was able to recognize me when she saw me. I got a teary eye but I just controlled my emotion thinking that she might be hurt. At her age, she still knows me and was very glad about my visit. She did all the talks, and I'm listening to her faithfully. The sad thing about her as she shared, she is incapable of rising, she needs the yaya (own dialect which means house helper) to lift her and needs to be assisted in seating on her wheelchair. She prefers to be in bed for her safety because every time she will attempt, she fails.

IMG20221208115736_00.jpg

I was amazed that she talked a lot. She was asking how’s my mother, where are my children why there were not with me, and talked more about her children. I got more emotional when I heard from her that her children don’t have enough time for her. They are all residing in the city, and are very busy with their work too. She understands the situation but my cousins never missed communicating with her daily, checking if everything is alright.

Brown Modern Jewelry Photo Collage(1).png

On my visit, I had a Vicks vapor rub on my hand. I have this every time I travel so I can smell it right away if I’m not feeling well. I had vertigo already. When she saw me smelling the rub, she asked: What is that? I replied, This one? It’s Vicks vapor rub. She answered, I’ve been longing for it, I like it. I was touched, it seemed that a child was asking and begging for something they like. I heartily responded, This is yours now. I was so delighted seeing her reaction. She thanked me religiously with an additional statement, This thing will always be at my side because it is from a special niece. Oh! I was more emotional, I want to cry but just hold it.

IMG20221208122256_00.jpg

IMG20221208122353_00.jpg

IMG20221208122331_00.jpg

My aunt asked me to prepare her a lamaw (coconut juice and its flesh added with condensed milk) as she was craving this. Without any hesitation, I asked her only child who is staying with her about her request. When she was still healthy and able, she planted coconut in front of her house. Now, we can reap the fruit of her hard work. We are all benefited.

IMG20221208122540_00.jpg

IMG20221208122552_00.jpg

IMG20221208122151_00.jpg

IMG20221208122212_00.jpg

She was fond of gardening too. She stopped when she accidentally fell and got her head injured and had bruises on her arms. She was 85 years old when she left her passion for garden.

Beige Minimalist Mood Photo Collage.png

It’s almost 12:00 noon and never thought that it was lunch time. We're having fun talking. Her yaya prepared the food. These foods can be easily prepared in our province. The fish and the pork were grilled with an aid of coal. They also have mango and lato (own dialect, a seaweed) one of my faves.

IMG20221208122818_00.jpg

IMG20221208122844_00.jpg

IMG20221208132015_00.jpg

I prepared the lamaw thoroughly for all of us. This was all yummy and delicious.

Brown Modern Jewelry Photo Collage(2).png

Lunch was served and it was special because of her presence. Afterward, she told me to have a survey of the vast field which belongs to our family. They are the heirs of this 2-hectare of land. She let me check how’s the field being cultivated.


The Quick Escapade

IMG20221208112938_00.jpg

IMG20221208110715_00.jpg

On my way, I met these 3 angels who told me that there is a creek in our land. They brought me to the area and captivated me with its natural beauty.

IMG20221208112012_00.jpg

IMG20221208112043_00.jpg

As we bounded into the area, I was astonished by this ancient deep well. According to these cuties, this is their source of drinking. It is clean and sweet. The water in the deep well is so cool because it was surrounded by huge trees. The goodness it gives to the residents there is being free all the time. It is owned by my aunt and is open to all who need it. It is a 50-year old deep well.

IMG20221208113845_00.jpg

IMG20221208113224_00.jpg

As we moved forward, we reached the body of the creek. I can feel the cool breeze around, I heard the birds chirping, and everything around was untouched. What a nice feeling to be here. No pollutants and the place is clean although there are many residents around. Nature is always best. The creek is not that wide nor shallow but once heavy rains occur, it becomes deeper and the strong force of the water can drown children to death if not rescued. This time it was calm and relaxing. The weather was fine and so was the creek.

IMG20221208112227_00.jpg

IMG20221208112814_00.jpg

Have my photo opportunity to be reaching this creek. In my entire life, this was the first time exploring our land which has hidden beauty to be discovered. The children enjoyed our walk to the fullest.

IMG20221208113000_00.jpg

IMG20221208113014_00.jpg

The land was cultivated well. It has been planted with corn and peanuts.

IMG20221208114507_00.jpg

IMG20221208114536_00.jpg

IMG20221208114708_00.jpg

We went back to my aunt’s house after our quick adventure from the place. It was not tiring because the place was cool and soothing. The natural beauty in it makes it more incredible. On our way, we found the guava fruits and got some of them.

IMG20221208114833_00.jpg

We rested under the shade of the trees. Life in the province is one of a kind. Everything is great. This is what makes it beautiful.

IMG20221208142731_00.jpg

I went back to my aunt, it was time to say goodbye. I have to go home because it was late in the afternoon already. It was such a great day.

273837050_1024409784819962_280469259915228907_n.jpg

As a Filipino trait, we value our elderly to the highest level. Everything is pampered and taken care of. With high respect, we never place them in the home for the aged. We are always there by their side no matter what the future brings. Until the end, our love for them never fades.

IMG20221208111424_00.jpg

Creating another memory to be cherished in one day; the visit of my loved ones and the quick exploration of our land. This weekend is special and full of remarkable memories.

IMG20221208132158_00.jpg

Thank you everyone and have a good time.

Sort:  

I can see how dear your aunt to you mam Marf. I am so envious of her age. Hehe
Unta maabot ko ana nga edad.🙏🙏
Their place is so refreshing and calm. The deep well and river made it so makaprobinsya level. Hehe

Exactly @missleray . Maybe it's everybody's wish to reach this age. At my age, I feel elderly already with all the body pains and the sight difficulties. Praying for more years being healthy and able.

The deep well is aging too (hahaha). Another thing that makes it makaprobinsya is the guava fruit that is taken from the neighbor for free (hahahah).

Wow Ka nice. Hehe

Wow! Her memory is still sharp even though she is already 88 years old! I bet she really treasured that moment with you and your family. Your aunt is lucky to have you who still cares about her.

Lahi rajud ang probinxa feels. The air is fresh, the nature calms you down, and you feel at peace.

Indeed @indayclara . Her memory is still active, Ensure helps a lot 😄. We are so blessed of having her too. She's like a mother to us; caring, loving and a good provider.

Tanan sa probinsya maainindot. Mapahiyoman kitang maghanduraw gumikan sa katahom sa palibot nga nagahatag ug kalinaw .

I miss lamaw! I always ask for that too whenever I'm in the province.
Your aunt is such a strong woman and so thoughtful. I realize people get to be more talkative when they get older and it's actually nice to hear their stories.
I suddenly miss my grandma and grandpa 😌

Lamaw in the province is always present. It is always craved if you haven't eaten it for a long time.

My aunt is always thoughtful. During my visit, she kept on asking me if I had eaten my snacks. This is one of the traits that I'll never forget from her.

How old are your grandparents? I'm pretty sure they are in good hands.

What a beautiful experience. Blessing to you and your aunt.
It's great that your people take care of the elders.
That place looks like my paternal grandmother's home town. I love the countryside (as long as there are no mosquitoes). Unfortunately, in my grandma's house there are always millions of mosquitoes and my skin is very sensitive to their bites.

Thank you for blessing my aunt, may you will be blessed too. Our elders are treated with love and care. They deserve this for raising and molding us to become worthy citizen.

This place has been planted with many mosquito repellent plants thus, their existence are minimized.

You must be careful all the times so you won't be bitten by mosquitoes. Thank you for dropping by.

I love what philpinos do to their elderly poeple. Taking care of them on their own instead of taking them to elderly home Care. That sounds so great. Your 88 year old Auntie was so happy for your visit. I can sight that from here. Thanks for sharing and continue to visit her

I am proud of being a Filipino. The elderly for us is like a gem, very precious. He / She must be taken care of with extra care. This what makes us unique.

Thank you for dropping by.

Wow that's awesome. I wish to be a Filipino

Congratulations @naymhapz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 2
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Quarterfinals - Recap of Day 1
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you @hivebuzz .

You're welcome @naymhapz.

BTW, may we ask you to support our proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/248

Your support would be very helpful.
Thank you!

Que bonito post, las personas mayores son un gran tesoro que hay que valorarlos y cuidarlos, que bonito que seas así con tu tía, solía compartir mucho con mis abuela materna y mi bisabuela paterna, me encantaba escuchar sus vivencias, podía pasar horas y horas hablando con ellas y yo mega feliz, lamentablemente fallecieron 😕 y extraño mucho el hablar con ellas. Son bonitos recuerdos que atesoraste con esa visita hermosa a tu familiar. Un abrazo, me encanto tu post.

Es una gran sensación cuidar a nuestros seres queridos cuando están envejeciendo. Creo en la qoutation que dice: Haz a los demás si quieres que otros lo hagan en ti. No significa que esté deseando que mis hijos me hagan esto, pero simplemente no quiero ser maltratada. Deben respetarme al máximo y a Dioshará el resto.

Que bonito ejemplo le estás dando a tus hijos, excelente ✔️💯.

Thank you. May my children grow to be God-fearing, kind and humble.

I congratulate you for sharing such a beautiful memory and your family. I wish your 88 year old aunt long life and good health. We should always take care of our elders, they raised us and raised us. Our children will also take an example from us.
Your respect for the elderly in your country is exemplary.
Best wishes 🤗

Thank you so much. They deserve all the love because without them, we are nothing. We are in our good situation because of them.

Thank you and best wishes too.

Thanks for sharing this like memorable moment.
Well photography collections.
Pray for you.

It's my pleasure to be sharing this extraordinary experience.

Thank you and keep safe. My prayers for you too.

One thing I advocate for is children take care of your aged parents do not just live it in the hands of domestic help.
I understand how busy her children are but the old woman needs her children which is evident in the question

where are my children why there were not with me, and talked more about her children.

Let me stop here as I'm getting emotional already. Thanks for the visit God bless you.

Indeed. It hurts when she said her children are so busy in their lives but they also have their families to feed, educate and all the needs needed. What's important here is that she was not taken for granted. There is still constant communication.

Thank you so much for your time. I appreciate it.

That's fine. Communication and visitation works together. I have aged parents I understand.

To some, elderlies are useless thus they were neglected and abandoned.

I don't know why some people thinks that way. They don't know that old age is a blessing from God. As for me I will like to live up to 120 years before I die.

Healthy lifestyle is the one of the best ways to stay longer.

Exactly! Others neglected the elderlies without knowing that they are the number reason for their existence.

May God bless you @ogechukwu-martha

Thank you @naymhapz my grandmother died at the age of 105. So me, I'm gana reach 120 year. That's what I wish myself.

What a beautiful place!! I fell in love with those palm trees and all the green landscape.

Your aunt seems to be a very wise person!! For sure she was a great teacher when she was at work!!

I’ve never try lamaw! I’m super curious but yes that seems to be super tasty!! Love your post!!

Have a great day!

Hi, there @belug ! You will really fall in love in her garden, 'though you cannot see many kinds of ornamental or flowering plants it is still cool to our eyes since it was arranged well.

She is really a wise and hard working mom. She was widowed for 34 years but she never gave up. In fact, all of her children are professionals. So proud here.

Try lamaw, it is easy to prepare. It is delicious.

Thank you for your compliment to my post, I appreciated it. Take care.