The Adventurous and Valuable Journey at Mabuli: The Exploration of the Three Caves (Part 1)

in Weekend Experiences10 months ago

Black and White Doodle Happy Father Day Photo Collage.png

A little touch of nature is my best turning point to be refueled and to be rejuvenated for the energy-draining weekdays and the weekend is the perfect time for this. My uric acid this time too had risen a lil, so I need to trek for this to gradually disappear.

With my travel team @callmesmile, @jobeliever, my travel buddy RM, and our co-teacher Sir Kim, we have decided to experience another fun-filled adventure, the caving!

IMG_2303.jpeg

In this blog, I'm going to share our humble adventure of the first cave visited that is truly extraordinary during our 3-in-1/2 day trekking of Mabuli's caves.

IMG_2086.jpeg

Mabuli has a great natural landscape: mountains, rivers, grasslands, farmland, and caves. It is an upland barangay in Tabogon. Since this is located nearby our residency, we have decided on a wonderful Saturday that we will be exploring the wonders that this barangay could offer to all hikers and nature lovers.

Many local tourists come to witness the dramatic scenery of their caves which are shrouded with wonders. They are situated at the top of the mountain which is needed to be traversed for 45 minutes from the foot of it.


The kickoff

IMG_2087.jpeg

We started our journey at 6:45 in the morning. The sun was blazing already. We decided to ride our motorcycles so we will get closer to our destination as this is too far from the main road where we had our kickoff.

359675484_1088972978751009_149579817606485663_n.jpg

The road is made from limestone and it has a portion that is too uphill and bumpy. I was anxious if I can do it, however, my strong will and determination urged me to keep on going without any hesitations. I surpassed the tricky road with RM as my back rider.


Let the adventure begin

IMG_2093.jpeg

The pathway is descending and was challenging already. Even if it was still early in the morning, the extreme heat of the sun was already felt. To reach our itinerary quickly, we did a shortcut.

IMG_2091.jpeg

We were not following any tracks from this shortcut. We walked in the middle of the grassland where the fully grown Amor Seco plants are flowering. It's in the name of the plant Amor which means love, so upon passing amidst them, their fruits stick to our leggings easily.

IMG_2089.jpeg

We were welcomed greatly by these hairy plants but their welcome was not appreciated much as they were very itchy and irritating to our skin.

IMG_2097.jpeg

IMG_2099.jpeg

The temperature started to low here this time. A variety of huge trees surrounded us. We passed this small creek with clean flowing water and finally, we reached the foot of the mountain after our 15-minute walk.

IMG_2122.jpeg

Ascending was exhausting for me. I have difficulties going uphill because I gained more weight. When I climbed the mountain before, I didn't have much difficulty. This trek needed great stamina to overcome all the obstacles that we might encounter along the way.

IMG_2109.jpeg

IMG_2124.jpeg

I stopped a few times to regain my strength. Good thing the atmosphere is colder. One of the things that worries me about this climb is the path. We didn't see any trail, so a higher chance of getting lost will happen however, our persistence is unstoppable.

I was so glad when suddenly someday called us. Three kind kids whom we met along the way followed us and volunteered heartily to accompany us. They are knowledgeable about this journey and we're all delighted about their presence.


The First Caving at Dose Cuartos (12 rooms)

IMG_2320.jpeg

Finally, we reached the mouth of the cave. Before reaching it, it was arduous for me because it is upsloping. One mistake could get me injured or I could fall into the deep end.

IMG_2139.jpeg

IMG_2148.jpeg

IMG_2141.jpeg

After an extensive trek, at long last we had stepped into the hidden paradise with an overwhelming beauty. A big "WOW" was uttered. The opening hole is not wide and huge but as we got inside, everything is so splendid. The towering stone walls, the stone floor, and the incredible appearance inside that look like a tunnel brought me to amusement.

IMG_2311.jpeg

At the entrance portion, the sun's light provided sufficient brightness to illuminate the area. There are big holes where the light can pass through.

IMG_2170.jpeg

If we will not be cautious in our moves, into this deep hole we will fall.

IMG_2165.jpeg

As we headed forward, the dreary scenario was about to experience. We have entered the dull place of the cave. So bad we weren't able to bring our flashlight with us. We turned on the flashlight of our cell phone to see clearly what was in the dark.

IMG_2208.jpeg

IMG_2202.jpeg

The inside is too wide, and so huge. We cannot predict what awaits us amid the darkness. We are so blessed the children continued guiding us because there are portions of the cave that we can fall under. One wrong move, we could step on the ground with a deep hole and it would cause disaster.

IMG_2239.jpeg

IMG_2238.jpeg

IMG_2236.jpeg

We were challenged by Sir Kim to go down by passing the man-made little bridge to see the wonders of the cave. It is so narrow and creepy to pass. Each side is a bit deep and the area is gloomy. My legs were trembling in fear as I crossed it in a sitting position. I got goosebumps while doing it.

IMG_2224.jpeg

The aromatic smell of the soil is relaxing in my mind. Even if we were inside, we can breathe with no difficulties due to the wide area inside.

IMG_2189.jpeg

IMG_2190.jpeg

I was expecting more stalactites and stalagmites will surprise us on this visit however, it was the contrary. Only a few of them are left. More than half of them were ruined.

IMG_2224.jpeg

IMG_2223.jpeg

The remains of the rocks that were blasted by the locals. It turns to black color.

The Dose Cuartos is known before to have fantastic beauty but now it was vanished. The marks of the massive destruction done by human beings were very evident. Blasting was done to remove the precious stones that they were after too. Selfishness was what pushed them to do this cruelty to nature.

IMG_2166.jpeg

The Dose Cuartos continues to thrive after the devastation. We can hear the dripping water, and gradually the stalactites and stalagmites started to vigorously grow. The birds started to build nests and we are hoping this will continue and be given the full chance to live freely and happily.

IMG_2209.jpeg

IMG_2194.jpeg

IMG_2199.jpeg

This cave has 12 rooms that's why it is called Dose Cuartos. Since we were not well-equipped with the stuff needed in caving, we weren't able to explore the whole area. We have checked only 2 rooms as we cannot handle the very dark and vast cage. We were afraid that maybe later on, we will perish. It will take time too if we wanted to eye-witness the 12 rooms inside. One day would not be enough to explore inside and we need a pro who will guide our ways.

IMG_2314.jpeg

IMG_2159.jpeg

IMG_2160.jpeg

These are the crystalized stones that the locals took and are to be sold at high prices. They will glitter if they will be placed under the sun's light.

IMG_2177.jpeg

This is the only bigger stalagmite left as the others are ruined. They keep on growing. As I touched them, they are freezing and honestly, I was totally amazed with their coldness. This was my first time touching them

IMG_2255.jpeg

IMG_2184.jpeg

Despite the destruction done to Dose Cuartos, the vandalism that can be seen in the walls of the cave, and the blasting inside, it continues to shine and amuses people. This is what makes the cave adorable.


IMG_2246.jpeg

This was a great adventure that had given us the value to give worth to nature. It was during this journey that my mental, physical, social, and emotional state continued to flourish.

It is on this trip that I learned the importance of constancy like a cave. Being constant will help me fully understand the imperfections in life. That I have to be mindful and never surrender even how hard life will bring.


In this half-day caving, we visited three caves. In my next blog, I'm going to share our incredible adventure of another Mabuli's impressive caves.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Oh my! You actually went and did it @naymhapz ! That place has always been an amazing site!

So proud to say at my age @nichebezarius, I did it happily. It was a success! ☺️☺️☺️

dog lover? so am i

Yes, I am a dog lover. I love knowing that you do too.

Wow I appreciate your courage @naymhapz!! I love nature but I am afraid to go there. Na assigned ko sa Mabuli for almost 8 years but never tried to go up in dose cuartos because according to the old folks it dangerous to climb up that cave. Good luck on your next journey in caving maybe I can go around with you next time.

Yes, next time we will count you in. Dose cuartos remains to be amazing despite the destruction done to its splendid beauty. Dangerous bitaw adto kay we don't know exactly unsay naa sa sulod.

Thank you for dropping by.

Sad to read about the damage that has been done all these years. Stalagmites and stalactites are very sensitive. It takes hundreds or thousands of years for them to grow so it's not advisable to touch the live ones. The natural oils on our fingers can peel away the minerals that are helping them grow.

Oh, I should not have touched it. Thank you for this information, we don't really know that they are sensitive.

We are hoping that the caves will be given protection by the local government.

So far this is one of the places I want to trek kay murag dili ra kaau nation ang dalan? Hehe

Funny kaau ni nga trek when we have our shortcut. Medjo lisod ang dalan especially in ascending. We will be back here unya koyog nata @missleray .

You had a great time exploring! The cave looks amazing but a bit scary. You must be really brave to explore part of it.
And about mountain climbing, ascending is truly not easy.. I remember the first time I tried it. It was indeed difficult but descending was easy.

For me, both are difficult. Upon descending my body weight drops and my legs and feet find it hard to handle.

The cave is truly splendid. We planned to visit it again. Thank you for your kind words.

A great adventure! Hope I can join with you guys one day. I also love to discover new things and challenge myself. Thank you for sharing this @naymhapz.

That is good to hear mam that you like to join our next trek. I hope this will be soon.

We will look for another spot where we can travel and unwind ourselves.

I am saddened by how damaged the cave is. The last cave you ventured in Somosa remained untouched and unblemished, unlike this one. Still, what a way to adventure caving! To more caves to explore soon maam @naymhapz 😊

There is a great difference between the two caves and so sad that the Dose Cuartos was damaged.

To more caving mam☺️. We hope you can join us next time.

Oh, wow this place is awesome. Glad you went to this place and witnessing its natural beauty

It is truly incredible. I was exhausted in this journey but it was full of adventure and happiness so worth it ra.

What a great adventure to be able to get to where the cave is a natural beauty, it should be a place protected by the government, despite the damage caused by man it still exists and is a tourist site and emblematic of that population, greetings.

Yes, we are hoping this will be protected by the local government.

Thank you so much for dropping by