You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's A Cultural Thing

I hereby promote you to 'America's Brand Ambassador'. Don't knock it 'til ya try it should be our new official catch phrase.

AMERICA!
Don't knock it 'til ya try it!

It's been a while since I made a T-shirt, but it's been a while since I felt this inspired.

As a native New Yorker, I feel where you're coming from with people bad-mouthing your state. The bad press is really all political in nature, and has evolved into generational raci... uh... state...ism? No, that's already a thing... put a pin in that for now.

What I think is hilarious is that I've spent some time in both states, and both states seem to have most of their geography populated by people with a heavy mix of right-wing and religious ideals. Where I live in NY, this is SOLID Trump country. I'm sure your locals in TN feel more or less the same way about NY as they do about CA. Most of the families in the area where I live actually came here from TN. They all HATE New York, and California. They won't move, though, because they ain't gonna let the liberals take over the rest of the state. If you ask them, liberals run the whole state EXCEPT the town they live in.

My theory of how this happened is that way back in the 1920's when people were saying that TV would turn everyone into mindless zombies, they were right. If you like what you see on TV, you like California. If you think the stuff on TV is sinful, you hate California, because naturally that's where all TV is made. Also everything involving video is TV, including YouTube.

I've been to Tennessee. The only TV they watch is televangelists and CVS. They'll let Fox News play in the background, but you're not allowed to look at it.

Shit, I didn't mean to post all over your post, I just wanted to take advantage of being the first to reply. Now I ran my mouth so much, I probably won't even be the first reply anymore.

Anyway, what I meant to say was 'Great job, that made me laugh, A LOT!'

CAcists? Stacists? I'll keep working on it.

Sort:  

Well if it makes you feel any better, I responded to this one last since you stole the words outta my thumbs.

What I think is hilarious is that I've spent some time in both states, and both states seem to have most of their geography populated by people with a heavy mix of right-wing and religious ideals. Where I live in NY, this is SOLID Trump country. I'm sure your locals in TN feel more or less the same way about NY as they do about CA. Most of the families in the area where I live actually came here from TN. They all HATE New York, and California. They won't move, though, because they ain't gonna let the liberals take over the rest of the state. If you ask them, liberals run the whole state EXCEPT the town they live in.

What he said

Wassup man? I'm glad this one got ahold of you, I wear a size Large, Pura's a child-medium or womens-small. Pink's my favorite coloUr (whats this place doing to me?!) just sayin.. And if ain't yours you're a sociopath!

I hear the NY talk all the time. Only thing you'll hear me say about it is there's a lot of junkies on the streets. Otherwise the food's bomb, weed's legal, cultures are plenty, oh and it'll take you 3 days to go 2.865 blocks in Upper Manhattan.

You mention California and TV. Trip out.. everywhere abroad we get celebrity status, I swear! We call it "the magic voice." No one is expecting it so when we get in an Uber for example, 'good morning!' That's all I gotta say and they instantly hear that voice they hear on TV and moods shift, tension removes and they're all eyes.. "where you from? Why you here, where you saying, oh I wanna visit California!" Here... more like Fox Noose.

They can even hear the difference between me and Pura, can you believe that?! My voice is the one they hear on TV and "Pura has an accent." Dude, she's from The Bay.

One of the other things about being from NY, is most people only understand it in terms of NYC. I'm closer to Cleveland than NYC, and if you stopped for gas around here, you might think you were still in Tennessee, until you heard people talk. Around here, people talk like they're from the TV. Western NY must be where Tennesseeans who want to look at the pictures on TV come to live. What's really, REALLY funny is the arguments that families will get in over accents, when North and South get together. The celebrity status must be a California thing. When people hear my 'accent' and I say I'm from New York, they say 'Really? You don't sound like you're from New York!' They also assume I'm carrying a gun, which is a bit like celebrity status. If I tell them I'm from rural New York... "Where's that?"

Fugeddabout it.

I feel like there's a great pitch for a sitcom in between the lines of this conversation.

I'll try to get the T-shirts going before my regular work season starts, but I can't make any promises. They may have to wait until this winter. I'm pretty sure the slogan will still be relevant. You didn't mention whether Pura preferred any color other than pink, so until I hear otherwise I'll assume that you assumed I would assume that she isn't a sociopath, so pink must be her favorite color as well.

It's not mine, though I don't exactly meet your linked definition criteria. I care about society as a whole, but I'm happy to dismiss individuals. As to whether or not I'm a criminal, that's for the courts to decide. A couple times they've decided 'yes', but they never felt it was worth locking me up over. Next time I'm in an interrogation room and they ask me how I feel about the color pink, I'll be sure to let them know it's my favorite color. Thanks for that tip!

My pleasure. Speaking of tip, anything but pink for Pura. Baby shit green, piss yellow, she hates pink. We get along great!! You really gonna make a shirt?

I just erased a buncha stuff about my longest stint—Chino. I erased it for a reason. You know, on of them joints you don't want celebrity status!

There's so many coasts to explore. I'm down to look at all of'em, Tennessee was for mountain biking.. Wait'll you see the next one. And I'll just keep running my thumbs about'em if they keep mistaken me for someone else but I just visit California now and even that's:

Way 2 Much $❗️