My Favourite Way Of Overcoming Fears and Embracing Challenges

Happy Sunday, Hivers, and members of the Weekend Experience community!

I hope your weekend is going well. Mine is going pretty well too.
It's been raining here, but that's not bad because I didn't have any plans to go out. Instead, I'm enjoying it because it lets me sleep comfortably whenever I want to.

As always, @galenkp has come up with some fantastic topics for the weekend, and here I am again to share my answer to one of them.

Explain your favourite way of motivating yourself to do difficult or uncomfortable things.

As we all know, motivation is crucial for healthy growth and a productive lifestyle. And because it's so important, we all need it in one way or another. Whether we find it within ourselves or seek inspiration from others, both approaches are beneficial.

There are many tasks that I find quite challenging, especially when they require a significant amount of time, effort, and energy. However, I've discovered various ways to handle them effectively. But for now, let's focus on my favourite method, as the topic requests.

My favourite way of motivating myself to do difficult or uncomfortable things is quite simple, but it requires some reflection.

I try to understand the reasons why I should do it, the benefits it brings, and what might happen if I don't.
This approach has helped me overcome many obstacles since I was a child.

There was a time when I couldn't take pills when I was younger, whether they were bitter or not. The feeling of them going down my throat was really nauseating, so I opted for syrups or injections instead. But not all medicines were available in those forms, and I rarely got sick; this gave me no chance to get better at taking them. I had to motivate myself by reminding myself of the reasons why I should take the tablets and the consequences of not taking them. I also had to reassure myself that forcing them down my throat wouldn't harm me. After saying these things out loud, I will feel more relaxed and determined to swallow the numerous tablets. Over time, this method helped me overcome my fears.

I apply the same approach to my studies too. I may not always enjoy studying, but I know it's important for my future. When I reflect on the reasons, benefits, and consequences of not studying, I become motivated to embrace my books. Once I get into that mindset, I can study for hours without getting distracted.

I use this method for all my difficult tasks. It's pretty simple: I focus on the end goal and the benefits, then determination kicks in and I start working, from the easiest tasks to the most challenging ones, taking it one step at a time.

Thank you so much for reading, for your time and support ❤️.

How do you motivate yourself to do difficult and uncomfortable things?

Sort:  

It was great, you could discover the best way to overcome your difficulties.

It was indeed. Thank you.