You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago

Nice topic! I think a skill I posses is my skill for languages. I just have a knack for them and can work out how grammar works and how words relate to each other pretty quickly. Over the years I have learned English, French, German, Spanish, Latin and a bit of Portuguese and of course my native tongue Dutch. I like learning languages, it's like a puzzle.

A skill I would like to posses it to be able to do anything really with numbers. I have put countless hours in but math is a complete mystery to me. I also have no ability to judge distances or sizes and it's a skill that I would like to have. After many many frustrated years of grinding away and still having no clue I gave up, but a little magical sprinkle of understanding would be very welcome

Sort:  

Language is a big thing here in Africa. We have hundreds of languages unlike in Europe where the languages are just English, Portuguese, Spanish, French or German.

Here, in every three hours drive, you'd find a new language that you may not find easy to understand except you have an ear for it.

Nigeria is full of different languages and indeed from town to town you hear different ones.

Languages is probably high on many peoples desired skills list I'd say. My own included. You have a good deal of languages there. Did you read the comment from @dswigle? She's struggling with Spanish...Maybe she needs a tutor.

Also, the numbers/math thing...I have ten fingers and ten toes so counting to twenty is no problem for me at all...Further than that and I'm quite incompetent I'm afraid. :)

Haha yeah I get confused with simple counting already! But I could do some Spanish tutoring indeed!

If only we have twenty more fingers, we'd be able to count to...Umm...Erm...47?

We just need 8 arms like that Indian deity!

Haha! Yeah, we'll be able to count up to...Damn it, where's my abacus when I need it?!

What is 8 in Spanish. May be I may need tutor as well

Do you mean to tutor @galenkp Spanish?

No there was someone in this sub who didn't have a knack for languages but wanted to learn Spanish

Hehehe...he can tutor her to speak Spanish, I guess

Sorry mate, you write me so many comments I simply cannot respond to them all. I just don't know what to say all the time.

That's a great skill, I love learning languages too, for math I would suggest install apps for measuring distance and sizes, it comes with experience and not theory

If you have skills in language, then you are a genius. In my country here where we have as much as possible languages, it will be difficult for one to have skill on hearing them one by each.