You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 45: Only three items [answer and win hive]

in Weekend Experiences3 years ago (edited)

Hi!

I see so much engagement around! This perfect!

Here comes my late response and I have to say that it was easy to make 3 clear decisions, since I am spending about 2 months annually on a wild beach, fishing, living in a tent, deep-diving and picking seafood, etc...etc...The wilderness can be an empty beach/island, a forest also.

If I went into the wild, I would take the following 3 objects with me: a well-sharpened ax, a very large roll of string and a large mirror.

I am a very practical person. I will explain why I would take these objects.

  • I would take the well-sharpened ax so I can use it to make a series of wooden knives with it, with these knives I would make wooden nails and other objects. With the ax I could cut some old trees, from which I could make a house and a roof. I would benefit of this ax for many uses.

  • I would take a big roll of rope/string to tie anything. From the large rope I could untie smaller parts, to make a fishing rod out of a branch, with thread and a small stone instead of lead. I've done this before. I fished by hand, without a branch. In any case, the knife I had done with the ax will help me cut and clean the fish at this point. The rope dries with moisture, so I would use it only for the guarded places, more often, for the construction of the house.

  • The large mirror is useful for me to light the fire at any time, using the sun as the main source and dry leaves, for example. But the mirror can also help me send signals to planes, drones, boats or even to be spotted by satellites, as I saw in a movie.
    I want it as large as possible because I am minimizing the risk of breaking and not being useful anymore. If I'd pick a small one and it would break that would be tragical :) So if a larger one breaks I can still use the smaller parts.

Thank you all for reading this and for an excellent weekend topic, @galenkp!
img_3545.jpg

Sort:  

Hello wild beach, fishing, living in a tent, deep-diving and picking seafood girl! Good to see you chime in here with a topic you inspired! 😉

I can tell you're legit by the items you chose. Axe, rope and mirror. Well thought out and incredibly useful! This topic fascinates me and I spend a lot of my time working on it, building skills and equipment and I find nowadays I'm working more on making each item multi-purpose which limits what I need. I like the use the smaller parts of a larger mirror part. Glass is very handy for cutting right? Good call on that.

I like your answer and thanks for the picture...That looks like a legit place!

!ENGAGE 20

After reading your comment and the other comments I have received in this engagement challenge today, I feel so happy. I even suggested that if we meet in the wilderness I could cook for all of you!

I don't usually participate in challenges here but these weekly ones that you set for us are FUN and exciting and they bring so many interesting people with brilliant ideas.
I realized that I could use the axe to craft hatchets from a comment I have received today.

It's all the interaction that I love and you really challenge us to think about peak/hubris situations :))

I love it!

Thank you for what you do!

I don't see the #weekend-engagement topic as a challenge per se, just a place for people to connect, have some fun and build new relationships. That's why I only offer a token amount of hive and don't call those that receive it winners. Everyone who engages is a winner.

I'm glad you come and play, it's clear you think things through and always provide a lot of value. Thank you.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.