Weekend Engagement - A Crazy Weekend In New York

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago

image.png

We've all had weekends that go down in history for being off the chain crazy. Tell us about one of your biggest weekends in at least 350 words. What happened, where and why? Please use your own photos if you can.

One of my biggest and craziest weekends happened some years back (i.e. pre-covid) in New York. I was roped in at the eleventh hour for a work-related trip for two days of work meetings in New York. Due to scheduling conflicts, the meetings with various parties could only be scheduled on a Friday and the next Monday. That meant I had the weekend free to roam around the city, and because it was going to be my first time visiting US and New York, I was naturally very excited!

Two days was a relatively short period of time, and I wanted to make full use of the time and opportunity, hence it became a crazy weekend with my sightseeing itinerary packed to the brim! So let's take a look where I went!

  • Times Square: Fortunately, my accommodation was a few minutes walk from Times Square and it's definitely a must-visit place to soak in the atmosphere and do some shopping in that area.

20160430_104038.jpg

  • Top of the Rock: This was an observatory deck on top of Rockefeller Center and the views were awesome! I personally like to visit such observatories when I travel overseas because it's interesting to see how different cities are organised.

20160430_121027.jpg

20160430_113201.jpg

  • Central Park: I always heard about Central Park before this trip and I finally had the chance to visit the park. It was very crowded during the weekend and it's always nice to see people gathering in groups and chilling out.

20160430_125058.jpg

  • American Museum of Natural History: I really enjoyed the "Night At The Museum" movies so this museum was a must-visit for me. Am not particular a fan of museums but I enjoyed myself looking at the exhibits in this one! Because the museums were all in the vicinity, I also popped by The Metropolitan of Art as well.

20160430_131605.jpg

  • Ground Zero: Anyone who has lived through 2001 would know the history behind this place. I also went through the museum tour and it was very saddening to hear and watch the timeline of the events on that actual day.

20160501_110645.jpg

  • Wall Street: I remembered it was raining and windy and the weather was like 9 degrees Celsius. It was just too cold for me and I had to seek shelter at a Starbucks nearby for a cup of hot chocolate. Anyway, despite the wet weather, there were still long lines of tourists (probably) queueing to take a photo with this bull.

20160501_141204.jpg

  • Brooklyn Bridge: Fortunately the rain become a slight drizzle and I continued my itinerary and made it to the Brooklyn Bridge. The views were great here once again! I didn't have time to cross the bridge so I turned back halfway.

20160501_160350.jpg

  • Empire State Building: Finally, I went up the Empire State Building at night! It was really crowded and I remembered having to queue for almost 2 hours. Really enjoyed the views up there!

20160502_221507.jpg

20160502_220601.jpg

On top of sightseeing, I had to do my personal and souvenir shopping because some of the American goods were actually cheaper when you buy them there. I was glad that I managed to complete what I set out to finish. If I had more time, I would have taken the ferry to visit the Statue of Liberty. Hehe!

So that's all for my sharing of a crazy weekend in New York! Feel free to share with me your thoughts too! Thanks for reading and have a pleasant weekend ahead!

Sort:  

Nice sharing.
!PIZZA
!LUV
!LOLZ

Did you hear about the claustrophobic astronaut?
He just needed a little space.

Credit: reddit
@relf87, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @vaynard86

@cryptoshots.nft 🔫 3D Shooter LIVE on Hive. Play and earn DOOM!!
(1/4)

Thanks!

!PIZZA !PGM for you

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT - 0.1 THG - tokens to @genming

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thanks!

!PIZZA for you, fellow metafren

Thanks!

I've always wanted to visit New York, thanks for this short tour, now I'm looking forward to it. Best regards.

Thanks for your comment! New York is definitely worth a visit! I wished I had more time to explore though hehe!

I think it sí a great place to visit. The views and places to go are incredible. I wanna go there more for the music than anything else. There's plenty of cultural activities going on and for any particular kind of likes since the citi s houses different ethnic groups. Increíble photos too!

Yeah, you are right! I know some of my friends would go for the Broadway shows. I had limited time so I had to be more selective. Thanks for dropping by!

I guess you'd need months to tackle everything you could do in New York and you would be stretched thin at it. Great post! It was nice reading it! ✨😁

Congratulations @relf87! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - October 1st 2022

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
vaynard86 tipped relf87 (x1)
@genming(4/5) tipped @relf87 (x1)

Join us in Discord!