Weekend Engagement - What Do Coffee, Swimming and Hive Have In Common?

in Weekend Experiences3 months ago

image.png

Are you physically active on the weekend or do you prefer a sedentary weekend lifestyle?

Over the years, I realised I have transitioned from being physically active on weekends to preferring a more sedentary lifestyle.

Maybe it's an age thing. Ah, what a excuse! :P

I like to slow things down over the weekend. Work during the weekdays has often been hectic and with the weekend, it offers an opportunity to just wind down, and enjoy life a little more. I know some of my friends or colleagues might disagree with me on this - because weekends are actually busier for them because of their kids - but being single, that doesn't apply to me. Whether that is a good or bad thing, I guess we each decide the life we want to lead.

So how sedentary is my weekend?

Sitting at cafes is something that I enjoy, for some "weird" reason. It's probably not a cheap hobby to have, with the skyrocketing prices of coffees and cakes, but I guess we each have our little indulgences. Some people might see it as not a "fruitful use of time" but I think there's actually some benefit to idle some time away.

Actually it's not really idling to some extent, with a wind down, one could spend time to get some rest, do some reflections, and sometimes, it gives me the space to ponder about ideas and solutions on some of the issues I have. I guess that is also why some companies are considering or have implemented wind down periods at certain periods of the year. The benefits to one's mental well being might not be so apparent sometimes, because it's not something that can be easily measured using some metric, but I am sure most people would feel some form of difference.
20240204_160423.jpg

Swimming is an activity I have been enjoying since young. I used to swim a lot when I was young, and I even participated in school competitions before. As I grew older, there were periods where I continued to swim leisurely but there were times where life got busy and I stopped swimming for a while. But when there is good weather, it's always great to be at the pool.

Isn't swimming a physical thing? Hmm I guess it depends whether you laze at the deck chairs tanning or swim laps continuously at the pool. Haha. I think I just do a bit of both, and I see it more like an enjoyable activity, rather than an exercise session. So I would see it more sedentary than physical in this case. Lol!
20240127_133205.jpg

Last but not the least, I do spend a considerable amount on Hive these days. Pretty sure this is classified as sedentary for sure! Other than write content, I spend time reading other posts in the communities I follow and sometimes I think the time spent reading and curating is actually more than the time spent crafting my posts. There's a wide range of content on Hive and the Hive community is generally a nice one so it's a hobby that I enjoy, and it has been for the case for the past 2+ years! :)
image.png

So that's all from me this weekend! Back to enjoying my sedentary long weekend (due to the Lunar New Year holidays)! Have fun!

Sort:  

Nice share.
!PIZZA
!LUV
!LOLZ

relf87, houhou sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/5) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

What do you call a corrupted IPhone?
A bad apple.

Credit: reddit
@relf87, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of houhou

(3/10)
NEW: Join LOLZ's Daily Earn and Burn Contest and win $LOLZ

Nice share bro.
!PIZZA
!LOLZ
!LUV

relf87, vaynard86 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Why was the banana denied bail?
Every judge knows bananas splits.

Credit: reddit
@relf87, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of vaynard86

(4/10)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@genming(2/15) tipped @relf87
houhou tipped relf87
vaynard86 tipped relf87