You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's A Cultural Thing

You know, I was always so biased about America before I got to know some Americans - where? On Hive, of course. turns out I like alot of you. We don't see a lot of you here in Australia as your holidays are too short. The other place that's good to find out stuff about places you don't know is books - I think most of what I know about American history is from literature. But that's just me. I also learnt, in my time, just as you say - you can't really have an opinion about something unless you've truly been. I'd love to go to California. I first heard of Big Sur via Kerouac, of course. And damn if your country doesn't have the most amazing biodiversity. I'd love to go to the Appalachians.

Sort:  

I edited this to say: I was thinking how nice it was hearing from you on this one so I come back to tell you.

Pura and I couldn't be more in the Appalachian mountains than we are at this moment. I'm typing this from foothills. We'll likely relocate to Florida in a few months until these got dang planes get back in the air so we can get the hump outta here but as I type this—surrounded by rolling hills and green forest covered Appalachians.

We befriended about 10 people whom we still keep in close contact with that we met during our travels. Them, too, we had to change each of their minds of Americans and I'm ok with that. I even let'em know, "we're changing opinions of Americans one person at a time."

It gets tiring. It's frustrating. I know what the majority of people think who have never been to America, I read the same noose and it's too bad. I don't mind changing minds.. one day with me and all I hear'em say is "oh, I can't wait to go to America!" I get it.. it's tough not to get sucked into what they feed but my own F'ing country people?!?

We speak the same language, know the same indoctrination, judicial systems are forced down our throat, public schooling, the IRS.. we have so much in common. I'm tired of being hated for nothing.

Sorry if this got lengthy and/or 'female doggy'

img_5170.jpg

You would love the Appalachians @riverflows. You can hike from Georgia to Maine on the Appalachian Trail. The total distance is about 2,200 miles. It is the longest hiker's only trail in the world.

Being that a small part of the trail passes through NJ we took advantage of it location to where we lived. Back in the day, I had a yearning to hike the entire trail, but you know what happens when you don't put dreams into motion.
Before we had our fourth child, I spent 5 days hiking the trail with our three sons. ages 12,11, and 7.
To this day, those 5 days of hiking and camping are right at the top of my list of great family times.
You would just love it. As you walk through the rolling mountains it is apparent just how old this mountain chain is. 480 million years ago some peeks rivaled those of the Alps and the Rocky Mountains.
Because of their age, the difficulty level of the trail is not as arduous as many other mountain trails. The trail is also maintained by different clubs throughout the states that the trail crosses.

So when can we expect to meet up at Sunrise Mountain? Every time I hiked the trail, I made sure that part of the hike would include this spectacular place.
image.png

So bummed to hear all this negative talk about Americans. I promise @riverflows, the vast majority of people here are good souls, at least the ones that I know.