The Habit Of Smoking ~` W. E #171

in Weekend Experiences9 months ago

What are your thoughts on the habit/addiction of cigarette smoking? Write about your own experiences, for or against it, and generally discuss the topic

IMG_20230917_165939_689.jpg

I have always been taught from a very tender age to stay far from people who smoke as it was considered a bad habit and people who engage in it are said to be a menace to society.

As I grew older, I heard that some people take it in the form of herbs to help correct some medical conditions. I cannot affirm this as I am not a medical practitioner but my stance on people who smoke remains still.

What I dislike more is the excessive consumption of cigarettes. It's like an eyesore because in my neighborhood and other places around I have seen people (especially young boys) engage in these acts all in the bid "to belong". They would form a group very early in the morning till night, you would see them smoking and chattering out loud. I mean boys that were supposed to be in school.

Initially, they hide whilst doing it but now they don't seem to care as they now smoke it in the open and also very proud to do so. It doesn't help matters that some of their parents sell cigarettes and most of their older ones are school drop-outs so I guess they trying to follow in brother's footsteps.

The worst of it all is that when elderly people around talk to them and try to caution them on the dangers of smoking, they in turn tell their elders that their role models are doing it. They look up to these celebrities (musicians, actors) and so on. They always have these phrases they use to back up their bad behaviors, they would say things like "school na scam"(which means going to school is a waste of time).

Even when you tell them that they should read the instructions written on a pack of cigarettes which implies that "smokers are liable to die Young" and other serious medical conditions they can get from smoking (like cancer, lung diseases, etc), they still don't give a hoot.

In time people started getting tired of talking and proceeded to leave them be. Their parents usually don't say much as these boys engaged in internet fraud which brings in money for them as they lavish this ill-gotten money. I mean how do you even advise someone like that to give up these bad habit and change for the better when even their parents support their lifestyle?

With some of the things I see around, I fear for the younger generation if most of these things are not curbed and I hope it's not too late before they realize the damage smoking is doing to them.

Thank you all for coming around.

The Image used is mine.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 174 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
14

This is a great point, smoking is bad for our health, you have nice handwriting by the way.

I'm glad you also see it that way.

Thanks for stopping by.

You are welcome.

Some people do not quit smoking thinking that they feel no physical harm. Although smoking does not cause immediate damage, its damage can be seen over time, nowadays it smokers or non smoker's cannot be distinguished by the age of them .
Almost site percent of my boy batchmates smoke in public places and they don't stop
Shockingly Many people now think of it as smartness!

Yes, most people see it as being smart not knowing they are damaging themselves on the long run.

Thank you for finding my post worth reading.

I wish I would have listened to my mother when I was around 16 and secretly tried smoking. I did it for a little while and stopped for several years, thankfully.. At some point I started smoking again to do it for years and then stop cold turkey several years ago, I think it's 4 years now but I'm not 100% sure. Either way, I'm never going back to smoking again, I disliked it for several years before I stopped cold turkey but I wish I did it much sooner. I didn't have the strength to do it earlier, as soon as I felt this is it, I stopped smoking before the cigarettes ran out. I really hope my daughter is smarter than us, and never touches that stuff in her life. It's disgusting and I'm the biggest anti-smoker around now. I hate it when I sit on a terrace and someone lights a cigarette, lol. It's crazy how disgusting I think it is now after smoking for 1,5 decades myself.


Posted via pimp.media

Despite your past mistakes, the most important thing is that you have stopped it. I applaud that decision by the way. Not many can stop once they have started.

Thanks for sharing your story.

Definitely a bad habit 🙌💯😎

It definitely is. Thank you for coming around.

This is the sad reality we now face, smoking is no longer considered to be abnormal, since people now smoke in the open. The funny thing is there are law enforcement agents who also smoke in public, so what is the point?

Especially in this era of internet fraudsters, smoking weed has been normalised. We all know that eventually most of the illicit attitude and habit of celebrities will be cultivated by people who are watching them.

The funny thing is, I don't see a way out of this.

Pop in from #dreemport
#Dreemerforlife

Hmmm it is sad indeed but maybe there's still hope things can change for the better? I really pray there is.

Thanks for stopping by.

I have heard the saying so much, “smoking helps me concentrate” especially from the younger ones. I can’t stand the smell of cigarettes or weed! I want no part of it.

And then we have how their attitude is altered, thinking faculties replaced and ego grow the size of the Buckingham palace.

Came in through Dreemport

And then we have how their attitude is altered, thinking faculties replaced and ego grow the size of the Buckingham palace.

Tell me about it. It's already the order of the day and most of the people that were supposed to call them to order are supporting them.

I hope and pray that things change for better.

Thank you for coming around.

I have never in my entire life fancied smoking talk more of drinking way too much and it has been said that " smokers are liable to die young " there's not benefit to it and it's not healthy.

I always wondered how they knew that but still go ahead with it anyways.

I hope they realize the damage it's doing to their body and quit on time before it's too late.

Thanks for coming around.

It's my utmost pleasure rukkie 😊

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below


Hey @cescajove, here is a little bit of BEER from @isnochys for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

I don't like to perceive it smell or stay around someone who smokes. I just feel is the same thing with the person that is smoking.

You have made valid points.

I popped in from #dreemport I am a #dreemerforlife

People who smoke do not understand that smoking is harmful to a second party. The should stay far from people who don't smoke.