You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 53: You in 20 words

Hmmm...I'd go with loving. I came from a very closed family...my brother and I were taught to keep to ourselves, not speak to our emotions or feelings, and to always be guarded against others. I love my parents, but they were products of a different generation and parents. I still have tendencies to be closed and guarded, and it's taken some time to learn to show open affection to Hattie and Liza...it's a process for me. It's hard to unravel 40 years of learned behavior, but hey, I"m doing it! Plus, very worth it!

Sort:  

A nice answer sir, thank you.

You're a good chap you know, and it's to your credit how reflective you are and how open to change and growth. Nice work fella. Gold star for you. ⭐ (I don't hand these out often you know.) 😉

You're a champ.

Lol, well thank you! The stories I could tell you about my relatives...stuck and stubborn, with most drinking themselves to death or finding solace in addiction. It's not been easy for me to change, but I'm open to and I have honestly been trying very hard the past few years to make things better, you know? I do have to thank Liza too, to be fair. With so much damn stubborn Norwegian, German, and Irish in me, I needed a good friend in her to break open the mind and mindset.

You stubborn bugger, obey Liza, life will be so much easier!🤣

Seriously though, sometimes the situation a person finds themself in may cause them to perpetuate it although also as often a person learns from that situation and decides to make a change. You're in the latter category, through seeing that change was needed and by being open to it. Not always easy of course, but that's life sometimes.