🎭Masks of Personality || Weekend engagement #166

🎭Masks of Personality

IMG-20230812-WA0047.jpg

Greetings friends of Hive and dear community of Weekend Experiences ✨.

I join again the weekend engagement with a super interesting topic, personality.

Personality

Seeing this word immediately in my mind come two references one of them are masks and another one is a water tap and you may wonder what these things have to do with personality? I will explain the context about it:

In 4th semester of psychology you see a subject called Personality, we had a professor who insistently mentioned that personality is a regulatory system of emotions, thoughts, behaviors, motivations, attitudes, etc. That it worked like a water faucet, if something made us feel very happy we would open the faucet so that the emotion of joy would come out and be reflected in our behavior, it was an analogy to imagine how personality worked. This worked like that with every aspect that conformed the personality.

IMG-20230812-WA0026.jpg

He also talked about the masks we usually have, how our personality molds to the situation, and we show a mask (mask does not mean that it is false). The mask implies that depending on the context our personality takes a different form, even if we are the same person. That is to say, at a wake our mask will be inclined towards empathy, sadness, silence, accompanying the affected family members. On the contrary, at a party we would expect joy, enthusiasm, being extroverted (what I place here are examples because not all of us are like that in events of this nature).

The importance of masks is that they be adaptive to the situation, because it would be counterproductive to have the attitude of a party at a wake.

From this subject I learned to see personality as something that has structural bases that are formed in childhood and that, depending on the context, becomes more flexible in order to be adaptive.

Before these classes my vision of personality was something like this: if a person was extravagant it was because he/she had a lot of personality, introverts had little personality. Culturally this is what is usually understood as having personality.

Thanks to this subject I understood that we all have different personalities, which adapt to the context, and that experience and hereditary bases influence all of this. Both analogies (masks and water faucet) made the subject much more interesting.

My personality

IMG-20230809-WA0029.jpg

I consider my personality to be 60% introverted and 40% extroverted, I don't like to draw too much attention to myself, but also when I am with people I trust I tend to be more extroverted.

I am smart with numbers, I am curious, intuitive, a planner, strategic, I am quite sensitive, I consider myself to be empathetic, I lean towards predictability and not spontaneity, I have low frustration tolerance and I am anxious.

I could go on describing many aspects of my personality and it would be quite extensive because personality encompasses our whole being. So I would prefer to close with an example of my personality.

Context: this week I started the gym, and there was a new exercise for me, it involved a partner throwing a ball, I would catch it and do an abdominal and so on until the instructor said pause.

IMG-20230812-WA0025.jpg

✅When I saw the exercise my first thought was "that ball is going to hit me in the face".

✅This thought is associated with the fact that I have a memory of being hit in the face with a ball (memory).

✅My Attitude was "I will do my best because this is the first time I will do this exercise".

✅My Behavior was "I tried to coordinate taking the ball and doing an adbominal, but I couldn't because the ball was heavy, I still kept trying".

✅While I was doing the exercise I was laughing because it was funny that I didn't have the strength in my arms to do the exercise well (excitement).

✅My attention was between the exercise and waiting for the pause sound to give the space to the next person.

In something as simple as an exercise, you can see the personality of someone, I could have said that I didn't want to do it, I could have been upset or cried because I didn't have enough strength to do the exercise well, at this moment I used my mask of "I am laughing because I can't do the exercise". Showing a bit of extroversion with it.

How does my personality affect me?

If something I know that affects me in my personality are my anxious traits, they have caused me episodes of great discomfort, in pandemic when I was pregnant, anxiety had me super bad because I was very afraid of getting sick and lived with anxiety every day, especially when I was with other people who did not use the mouthpiece.

IMG_20230802_115225_240-1.jpg

Fortunately that anxiety subsided because the pandemic has subsided, however, I know that my personality at that particular time in my life was something that made me feel pretty bad.

In general I like the way my personality is, I know that it is not perfect, and that I have to improve many aspects. I find these exercises to see how I am separately (thought, emotion, attention...) fun because I don't usually pause to analyze it. I would invite you to make that pause and discover what predominates is you, because it is significant to know our personality.

IMG-20230731-WA0061.jpg

Weekend engagement #166; proposed by @galenkp. Topic: Personality.

IMG-20230731-WA0061.jpg

All content is my own and images are my property

Editing and Separator Canva

Traducido por DeepL

Sort:  

I remember that subject a lot, at the end of the class I was left but then the personality is all or nothing 🤣. And your example totally reminded me of the exam answers. Greetings

That exam was a challenge, I will never forget it hahaha.

Jajaja imposible olvidar la materia de personalidad y al profesor Gerardo. Aprendimos mucho, pero también sufrimos en el proceso 😅🤣

The important thing is that it was significant learning hahaha

Interesting way of explaining personality, I agree with your expressions, masks, we all wear them and that doesn't mean they are bad, it just depends on the circumstances.

I liked the analogy with the water tap, important that emotions are not repressed.

I loved reading you @samantha.asami ❤️

Both analogies are fabulous, the professor managed a good way to teach us this topic.
Exactly, to repress emotions would be to totally turn off that water faucet, and we would only be hurting ourselves.
Thanks for reading me and commenting 🤗

My pleasure, thanks to you!❤️

Congratulations @samantha.asami! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 2
Women's World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Recap of Day 1
LEO Power Up Day - August 15, 2023