A weekend blast from the past!

This weekend started off pretty well I would say! Pretty quiet morning in the medicine ward, my patients were doing significantly better today are ready to be discharged tomorrow! And later in the evening Liverpool made an extraordinary late comeback to win and "temporarily" go top of the table in the premier league!

However, there was an even better result to follow later - Real Madrid dropping points at Real Betis! Hell yeah! I totally forgot this game was on today, and so as my wife and I sat down for dinner we had the Manchester United vs Bournemouth game on TV. It wasn't until after Real Betis scored that I was reminded on "X" that the game is on! I got to watch like the last 20 minutes only, but the result was all that mattered!

Two more things need to happen to make my "sports weekend" top notch! Arsenal losing tonight in the Premier League and Barcelona winning tomorrow against Girona in La Liga!

And just as I was typing this line, Aston Villa scored against Arsenal! Go Villa!

Weekends like this brings back a lot of childhood memories! Every weekend I would sit in the living room of our old house with my brother and my father and watch premier league, Laliga and champions league matches! For late night games my father would bring some snacks for us to munch on - different chips, chocolates, wafers etc! And Incidentally I have one of those "blast from the past" kinda snack with me!

Every 90's kid who grew up in Bangladesh will know this wafer rolls! We have snacked feasted on these as kids! They are crispy, light and they taste good!

However, the reason we all remember this is because once you have eaten half of a stick, the remaining half resembles the size of a cigarette quite closely! And I'd be lying if I said I didn't pretend to be smoking a cigarette with the remaining half!

Winters were even better when a smoke like vapour comes out when we exhale - gave us a real good feel as if we were really smoking! That's as close to real smoking as I ever went!

I think I will publish this post tomorrow as I have already published the one for today. By then I will know the result of one of the games of interest!

Oh and you know what would be the cherry on top? Man City dropping points again tomorrow evening! Asking a bit too much aren't I?!

Sort:  

The chocolate wafer and the cigarette part we can all relate to; especially us non-smokers.

I still put on a show whenever I get my hands on these things. 😂

And these are so addictive too! One large box - I can finish before a game of football is done 😂

Addicted to nicotine?

untitled.gif

Addicted to chocolate wafers?

untitled.gif

Oh i remember this snack so well. We have it in the Philippines, only that the brand is different. And i can super relate to the cigarette acting 90s kids do when eating this snack. Have a good day!

Oh wow! I had no idea snacks like this was available in other countries too! Fantastic eh!

So the cigarette acting is an universal thing that goes beyond country borders haha 😂

where is the damn Nabiscor biscuit 😡 or the trashy gems choco beans

untitled.gif

On damn! Yeah! Nabisco and gems! Can we still find them? I know they still sell something like Gems, but they don't taste anywhere as good as the ones we used to have.

Nabisco seems seems to vanished, just like you hehehe! Good to hear from you after so long! How have you been?

I saw their storage in dhaka mohakhali a few years ago and occasionally some of the grocery shops nearby would sell the biscuits... but (again) that was a few years ago 🙃

and shhhh nabisco and I have a special relationship... i didn't just eat the biscuit - the biscuit ate me too

Your content has been manually curated by sagarkothari88
Upvote recommended by @bhattg as part of Encouragement Program
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️