One of the Unique Weekend Visit: Visit to a Construction Site🤩👷‍♀️🚧

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends, I am Sihara but you can call me @sishi. I am a newbie to the hive. Please do not hesitate to glance at me further on my introduction post if you wish to know me. 🤗
img_20220310_wa0018
It's me @sishi 👋

This is the first post I am taking to you guys. So, hope I can collaborate with you dearly. I recently graduated as a Civil Engineer from a Sri Lankan University and now I am employed by a leading Construction Company in Sri Lanka.
soft_brown_cute_happy_birthday_pet_photo_collage

It was the last weekend that I had a chance to visit construction sites. Today I am going to share one of my recent experiences from my field visit diary.
image

Image of the busy site of the Flyover. Image by @sishi

It was a site visit to the Construction of a Flyover at Gatambe Junction, Kandy in Sri Lanka. Kandy is the second-largest city on the island and the capital of the Central Province of modern Sri Lanka. Its geographic location has made it a major transportation hub on the island. Gatambe junction has become a bottleneck for the vehicles entering Kandy city from Colombo, Nuwara Eliya. Because of that, after considering several options, a two-lane flyover with a single-lane branch has been identified as the most effective and economical solution for this location.

image

You can see a railway track nearby the Road. Image by @sishi

After several up and down situations, the two flyovers are under construction now. I am going to share its status with you today.

Construction is one of the industries which is full of uncertainties, when it comes to the road construction project and if the road network is a major one, then the situation gets a lot worse due to heavy traffic flow and vehicle movements. This place is exactly one such location.

Considering the soil profile of the area, a deep foundation has been selected as the foundation type for the flyover. When it comes to the flyover as some of us know there are major parts of the structure.

•Foundation of the flyover
•Abutments – End span supports
•Piers – Intermediate supports
•Bridge deck
•Superstructure
•Retaining walls

image

Concrete pouring for the sceed of the pile cap. You can see the piles as well.

This flyover is constructed on the existing service roads, so here we are using hoarding boards to cover the construction area. Ready-mix concrete is used as the main material for the construction.

Let’s dig out the present picture of the site.

image

Picture of pouring concrete to retaining walls during rain. ☔👷👷‍♀️

whatsapp_image_2022_05_27_at_12.21.00_pm_1_

Backfilling for constructing a pile cap. 👷‍♀️

whatsapp_image_2022_06_02_at_12.48.49_pm

Completed Reinforced Concrete Retaining wall. 👷‍♀️

whatsapp_image_2022_06_02_at_12.34.22_pm

That's how we are marking and separating our construction area using hoarding boards and safety boards ensuring safety. 👷

whatsapp_image_2022_06_02_at_12.34.15_pm

After a ton of works, here the engineers are chatting on a scaffolding.👷

whatsapp_image_2022_06_01_at_3.10.51_pm

Levelling and compacting after backfilling using vibrating rammer.👷

whatsapp_image_2022_05_31_at_12.59.28_pm

Finally an image of concreting a retaining wall using a pump car. 🚧

I hope you all had a chance to have a virtual visit to a flyover construction site.I will bring many weekend experiences of mine to taste to you guys.

Until then bye and Laters Hivers 😎

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Hi there, and welcome to my community. If you haven't already, please read the posting guide as it will tell you what to do, and what not to, within the community. You can post any day of the week however the content must have a strongly weekend-related focus or it will be muted. Me thinking the word weekend isn't sufficient. This post isn't really what I'd call weekend-focused; a trip to a construction site? I will let it go on this occasion as you're new though.

Thanks for coming over to the community and I hope to see some more heavily-weekend-experience related posts about moving forward.

Thank you so much for the comment. I'm sorry for the mistake and I make sure not to do the same mistake again!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Thank you for understanding. This community is designed to be a fun place, somewhere a person can come and read about interesting, enjoyable, fun and happy weekend-related content.

I also run this each weekend beginning on Friday, https://peakd.com/hive-168869/@galenkp/we105-weekend-engagement-concept which you may be interested in. That's the announcement post for this weekend outlining the writing suggestions and you may want to take a look at some of the other entries so far this weekend to see what people are doing. Please, if you want to enter, follow the guidelines set out in that post above. The #weekend-engagement entries are the only time I will accept posts that are not specifically weekend related as they follow the writing prompts I set in the Friday announcement post.

Feel free to ask me any questions if you have them.

Thanks again. I will go through it.

Hi there Sihara. Welcome to The Weekend community and to Hive in general. I hope you find your feet and make some good connections here. I can tell that you are passionate about your engineering career, I would think it could be a tough industry to crack into.

I had a look through your posts and really liked your hiking and picnic ones, that kind of content is perfect for The Weekend.

Also the community founder Galenkp brings out Weekend Engagement topics each Friday that you can choose to write on. Just be sure to follow the contest rules in the announcement post.

Have a fab weekend.
Andy

Highly appreciate your comments @andrastia. I am sorry for the mistake I have done and I make sure not to repeat the same again! Thanks again.

Congratulations @sishi! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Month - New Tracking Calendar
Our Hive Power Delegations to the May Power Up Month Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

These are really nice images. Construction work is always so messy and demanding, glad you pull it off well.

Thank you @young-boss-karin. Yeah, It is tough but adventurous. 🤩

You are welcome to the hive community.
I believe you will have a good time here.

Thank you @adaezeinchrist for the warm welcome!

You guys at the construction work do such great job. Keep it up.