Squirrel Sunday - Spring Is Here

Here are some spring squirrels for this #squirrelsunday
p3155145_copy.jpg
Now that spring has arrived and all the snow is gone I can finally go out and find for squirrels. This little guy was feasting on an old walnut that was buried in its stash over the winter.

p3135123_copy.jpg
This one isn't sure if it wants to come out for springtime yet. Maybe it has a huge stash of food in there and wants to wait another month to come out and explore.

p3155146_copy.jpg
Now that it is the end of winter the squirrel stashes are running low and new walnuts aren't growing yet. The squirrels are furiously digging through the ground trying to remember where they hid their food.

p3155148_copy.jpg
Ahhhh there are only empty shells here!!!

p3155149_copy.jpg
Now this little guy will have to raid the dumpster hoping something will be in there for him to eat. Or maybe it can fight the other squirrel with the last walnut high up in the tree.

p3155136_copy.jpg
Looks like the red-winged blackbirds have arrived and are finally filling in the quiet winter with their loud squawks.

p3155131.jpg
Soon these guys will be dive bombing the squirrels that get into their territory. They will attack anything within a few feet of their nests.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks again @ackhoo :-)

So is squirrel watching a thing these days like bird watching? I can imagine it would be, they are cute little guys. This one was quite chubby!

Have you watched Mark Rober's squirrel obstacle course video?

I'm usually out birdwatching but if I see the squirrels I try and get photos of them too. I have seen those obstacle courses by Mark Rober, its pretty hilarious how they can solve them so quickly.

It's typical of nature. Takes him 6 months of engineering to make the obstacle course, takes the squirrels a day to figure it out and get fat on nuts 🤣

They have millions of years of evolutions in the problem solving area of their brains to beat the obstacle courses.

Is it an animal that must be destroyed in your place because it eats a lot of people's plants?

Here they only eat walnuts and acorns mostly. Sometimes they will raid the trash cans for human food like donuts or cookies.

In my area they attack the coconut plants of my local people, they are often hunted to be killed

They are said to have a descent amount of meat on them.

Red squirrel and redwinged blackbirds #redlife haha My first winter in the cold in quite awhile. I was surprised squirrels were active pretty much all winter. Nice photos - especially the squirrel inside the tree 👍

I wish I could have gotten the shot of the squirrel climbing into that tiny tree hollow. Somehow he made himself fit in there. I can only imagine what sort of fight would happen if two squirrels tried to go into that hollow at the same time.

Love the one peeking out of the hole, and the redwings.

I'm surprise the squirrel even fit in the tree hollow. I saw its big tail sticking out and by the time I took the photo it had already stuffed itself in there.