Tanks on Display

This weekend I had a chance to visit a war museum.

Outside the museum tanks are on display from WWI to Desert Storm. I should have been a bit more careful on taking pictures of the signs of each tank so I would know what they were but I was too busy enjoying the nice day.


These tanks are quite popular as people wait to go inside the museum. Some people come here just to climb all over the tanks.


As a kid I used to draw tanks on my notes in school. If I grew up near this place I would be bugging my parents to come see the tanks every day lol.


Everyone wants to be a tank commander lol.


They even have bite sized tanks for the smaller kids to climb on.


Next to the tanks are some manicured gardens with strange metal chairs to sit in for selfies.


To help you cool down there are a number of different fountains. Some you can even walk under.


I didn't want to get my camera wet so I kept my distance. Here's a test of the camera on a fast shutter speed to get the little water drops in focus.


This museum used to be the estate of Robert R. McCormick who was a colonel for the 1st infantry division in WWI. Here's where he and his wife are buried next to his mansion that is also a museum.

It's quite a large place to explore and there's always something new to learn or see here. That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

I loved tanks growing up and also drew them in class - probably when I should have been listening 😊 your picture of selfie chair is missing yourself haha Probably need those fountains to cool your bum after sitting in metal chair during this heat wave.

Lol my wife thought the chair was tacky looking and didn't want to take a selfie there. Plus like you said that thing was probably roasting hot. My history teacher used to write comments on my notes about the doodles and tanks I used to draw.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sketch.and.jam.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP