You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Put in - Get out

I envy you your citrus, we get too cold for conventional plants here. I may try some, when the green house are done. We're also moving into winter, so the garden looks inviting!

The cucumbers will make great fermented pickles. It's a skill I'm working on.

I have found dehydrating cherry tomatoes cut in half, is a good way to preserve them. You can put about 8 pounds (4 kg) in a quart jar that way, and keep their nutrients intact.
IMG_20220329_205321490.jpg
These are also vacuum packed, I don't want to risk wasting them!

This is a before:
IMG_20220330_000947666.jpg
They taste like sun dried tomatoes. I soak them to rehydrate them, and put them on pizza!

Love your garden!

👍💙🐾🐶🐾💗🤔😁🤠🙏😋

Sort:  

I've done a little preserving, not much at all though I guess and it's something I want to get into some more. I generally trade my excess stuff with friends, milk, eggs, other vegetables and fruits, and I also give them away. We have a fairly healthy trade scene here though and it works well.

Preserving is important for SHTF use. I'm pressure canning, dehydrating, vacuum packing, fermenting, and pre-freezing dry goods.

I'm also thinking about building a freeze drying unit, because they are too expensive; and not that difficult to build.

I have mylar bag storage, but I haven't used any yet...time is the limiting factor!

I'm so glad you have a community there to rely on. I'm building one with my family based on Keystone Lake for transportation. We own four homesteads on the lake, and will communicate by ham radio.

👍💙🙏📖🙏💗🤔🤠😋