A Taste of Home for Good Friday

in Weekend Experiences2 months ago (edited)

As the time for commemorating the Day of the Lord's Death approached, my siblings and I planned to return to our province for a brief vacation, aiming to make happy memories with our loved ones.

Knowing that it's a holiday, we expect that public vehicles going to the province will be crowded again. As a result, my younger siblings and I decided to head straight to the North Bus Terminal to find a less crowded vehicle and to secure seats comfortably.
Luckily, when we arrived at the terminal, we found a bus with few passengers, so we were able to sit comfortably, and our trip back to the north went smoothly.

Upon our arrival at our house, we were greeted by the wide smiles of our parents. It dawned on me then that we seldom have the opportunity to be together due to our respective families and responsibilities that demand our attention. So I'm happy whenever I've visited my parents house occasionally, even if it's just for a short while.

Given our unexpected return, we assumed there wouldn't be much happening tomorrow for Good Friday, knowing that our parents aren't keen on cooking, especially since there are only three of them left at home, including our youngest sibling, who's still in senior high school.

When I woke up the other day, I was surprised when my mother asked me to buy ingredients at the market for the dishes we'd be preparing later. After breakfast, I promptly carried out her request.

I didn't linger long at the market either because I quickly found the items my mother asked me to buy, especially since there were many vendors selling ingredients at the market today, as it's one of the most popular dishes we cook for Good Friday. Thus, after making the purchases, I immediately headed home and found my siblings already preparing the other ingredients we would use later.

If you're interested in what we're preparing, it's simply a well-known dessert in our area known as "binignit." Here in the Philippines, particularly in my hometown, the day of the death of God would not be complete without the famous dish called "binignit."


source
For those unfamiliar, "binignit" is a popular dessert among the Visayan people, typically enjoyed on Good Friday. This sweet dish is traditionally prepared using a variety of fruits, such as saba banana, jackfruit, sweet potatoes, and purple yam, along with sago pearls and glutinous rice, which are cooked in coconut milk.

source
Because of its irresistible taste, you won't feel the need to indulge in other dishes or desserts since it is truly satisfying. It's an ideal choice for Good Friday, a day when consuming meat is forbidden, as it fully satisfies hunger.


After our youngest sibling cracked the coconut, I volunteered to be the one to shred the coconut, which he agreed to easily. It took me a few minutes to grate the coconut until I finished. Once all the coconuts were grated, I handed them over to my mother, who was in charge of cooking the binignit.
I spent some time watching what my mother was doing before joining my siblings, who were happily chatting. After a while, our mother announced that the binignit was ready and that we could now get some from the pot.
Without hesitation, I stood up immediately and scooped some binignit onto my plate. As I tasted it, I could only say one thing: nothing can compare to my mother's cooking. Even if I've tasted many versions of binignit in my life, it's still different when my mother cooks it for me or us.It's a good thing that I didn't hesitate to go home to our province to celebrate Good Friday because I got to taste my mother's cooking again, which is always a treat.

And with that, I conclude my blog for today.

Sort:  

Benignit was indeed the highlight food during Holy Week. Good to see you had a quality time with your family, couz @supremooo!

Yes couz @jeannmazing , I'm glad that I returned home because I'm certain that I'll leave behind many wonderful memories, such as the making of binignit. Also, I've gathered many beautiful memories with my parents and siblings, and of course, most importantly, I've collected many beautiful photos🤣.

Congratulations @supremooo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Thanks a lot, @hivebuzz, for always inspiring me.

That's great @supremooo! We're excited to see your commitment to Hive! Keep it up!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Nagluto din kami skl hahahah pero di man lang napicturan 😆

Mabuti nalang talaga at nakuhanan ng mga kapatid ko ang paggawa namin ng binignit kaya may na I content ako ngayon 😅.

I also came from Visayas but our binignit is different from yours, I want to try thay kind of binignit soon. 😊😁

Yes. As far as I know @pixie.maya , there are different versions of how binignit is cooked, but here in our place, this is really the one I and my family have grown accustomed to.

Yeah, and your binignit look delicious hehehe

Holy week is complete with benignit. 😊

Yes it is @fixyetbroken , it feels like Holy Week is incomplete if you don't get to taste it 😅.

Kalami sa binignit

Lami gyud, labi na ug bag-o pa gyd nga luto siya ma'am .

Wow! @supremooo the famous benignit
one of the delicious Filipino desserts

This famous dessert has been one of my favorite desserts since I was a kid sir.

Looks soooo yummy!

It is really delicious, especially with your loved ones around. It makes it extra special.