Ukay-Ukay Only in Philippines

in Weekend Experienceslast year (edited)

In Philippines, we don't like to buy brand new clothes; instead, we go to the ukay-ukay, which is a thrift shop store at the side of the road where secondhand clothing is sold. The reason why we prefer it aside from the cheap price is because we can get those high-quality clothes even if they're not brand new anymore, like a steal. It's a norm in the Philippines that buying ukay-ukay clothes is better than brand new clothes sold in malls. In fact, a lot of Filipino celebrities claim that their clothes are bought from ukay-ukay too. We Filipinos are so obsessed with buying clothes from thrift shops.

IMG_20230611_144404.jpg

IMG_20230611_144422.jpg

IMG_20230611_144820.jpg

My mother and I had visited this weekend's ukay-ukay stores here in our city. I'm amused by how many cheap and quality pants are displayed. In fact, I was able to buy three different pants. I bought two black pants and one pair of jeans. All are high quality, and the jeans don't even look like a secondhand instead; they look like a brand new. The clothing displayed in the ukay-ukay stores is actually imported from different countries, and maybe some of it is a factory defect. But upon looking at the jeans, I cannot see any defects. Instead, it looks branded, just like what we can buy in the mall. This is why buying ukay ukay clothes is such a steal. In malls, you don't buy clothes for their price; you pay for the brand.

IMG_20230611_155904.jpg

IMG_20230611_155929.jpg

IMG_20230611_165840.jpg

IMG_20230611_165855.jpg

I am not honestly fond of going to ukay-ukay, but since my mother is into it, I was influenced to choose ukay-ukay rather than going to the mall. In fact, even wealthy people don't prefer malls; they prefer ukay-ukay too. So if you are patient and don't mind shopping in crowd, then you might like ukay-ukay. It will take you a lot of HOURS if you really want to buy an almost branded clothing because most of the clothes in the ukay-ukay are assorted. Some are new arrival, and some are old as old. Another thing is you cannot fit them in the fitting room, so you do the estimation. One of the biggest perks of buying in ukay-ukay is you can ask for a discount, and it depends on the seller whether they would accept it.

I believe buying in ukay-ukay or thrift shops is a skill. You need to be persistent in looking for something, patient in looking for the right size, and good communicator in asking for a discount.

8DAuGnTQCLptZgjHUrRAJGcW4y1D4A5QVJJ7zjzqqKdfVHSS6NapSCCBxXyvHLPRmPQPCVUDfwTqqojB3go7geXqZ9cdNoYL6Y11huNEUpwqJqLSx8Va9M7W6u2sYoqXJVukHhxF3Rszx31dVg4AWB1F5vzcsHYwn5AvcNbD1Tc.png

Have you already visited an ukay-ukay or a thrift shop in your country? What do you like about it?

Sort:  

This is a community about weekend experiences and I see your post makes no reference to the weekend and contains no weekend related tags. Please keep any posts here directly related to weekend experiences and make reference to it in the post.

w.png

Unfortunately you've not followed the rules and guidelines of this community. You can find the community rules listed to the right of the community landing page here and I suggest you read the posting guide here prior to posting in this community again. If you have any questions you can reply to this comment and ask, I will be pleased to respond and further clarify the rules and guidelines I have set in this community I have created. Please ensure you read and understand the rules and posting guide prior to asking me any questions.

Blackboard image source

Oh, I'm sorry for the misunderstanding. This is actually a weekend experience with my mother as we go to the thrift shop that's why I submitted it here. I think I have to add the words weekend in my content.

As I said, you made no reference to the weekend in the text or the tags, so the assumption is made it's not a weekend event.

My apologies for that. I hope my content is still accepted.

Of course it is; your content is very welcome, I was merely letting you know about the guidelines so that your next posts comply.

Thank you so much. I would like to write more in this community and I will make sure next time that I have followed the guidelines. Thank you for reminding me.

Don't worry. There is always next week. The weekend community usually has good interaction and I think you will be welcomed.

Thank you so much. I am very much interested to write in this community and the interactions are also very welcoming.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @davidke20.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Hah! We do have a residential area by the name of Ukay. We have always referred to that as UK and people got confused as united kingdom 🤣

Sorry not enough voting power as I've been blasting votes over the weekend. Have sent #ecency to vote on my behalf

That's funny because here in Philippines we also have a fantastic place we call as UK but we refer it to the place "ukay-ukay" abbreviated in UK to make it sounds cool hahaha.

Thank you for the support. I really appreciate it. More power to you!

Congratulations @sydney27! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thriftiness may become a useful trait in the near future.

This is our second hand store in front of campus, but it is a little expensive. They are "vintage" and cost more than new clothes. Haha. It's true.

image.png

Sometimes I find cheap new clothes on the street.

image.png

Wow how cool. I think the reason why they're a little expensive is because they are vintage. It's hard to find vintage clothes nowadays since they are phase out.

We have charity shops here in the UK. These are run by charities, you donate items especially clothes, they sell and keep the profits.
I love them, and try to buy from them and then donate to them.

Wow that's nice to hear. I know they have helped a lot of people by that charity shops.

Yes and we have animal charities too, they are my favourites to donate my things to!

That's awesome!