How I Influenced My Aunt to Cook a Very Old Recipe

in Weekend Experiences2 years ago (edited)

Hello friends from the weekend community,

The decision to join this community makes me very happy because I see that every week the topic is more and more interesting and we have to enjoy it happily.

Analyzing a little today's topic, he managed to awaken some memories spent a few years ago in my grandparents' village, Bihor county.Bihor County is located in Romania.

I went there about 3-4 times a year, usually during school holidays, and stayed with my grandparents. Being in the country, I didn't have all the benefits I could have in the city.

The same happens when preparing food, but I can honestly say that the food made by my grandmother cannot be compared to any food made today at home or at any restaurant.

Grandma had the gift of preparing the best and tastiest food.
Let me get back to the topic so I can talk endlessly about my grandmother.

A few years ago, visiting relatives in Bihor County, making a trip of about 3 hours, I asked them to prepare something to eat, not being close to the city to order something, I thought about that tasty food Grandma did long time ago.

So I told my aunt to make those cakes with salted cottage cheese, these were my favorites when I went to grandparents.

20180311_133740.jpg

Unfortunately, my grandmother was no longer alive to tell us how to make those pies and we tried to make them the way our grandmother used to make them, from what we still remember.

Pies are not hard to make, but the ingredients must be natural to have that taste that will stay imprinted in your mind for a long time.

Grandma used natural ingredients without being processed too much, including the flour, was made from wheat that they had in the gardens (I'm sorry I didn't find some old pictures to show you what the wheat threshing machine looked like at the time) eggs they were from chickens raised in the household, the cheese was from cows raised on the green grass fields around the house).

My aunt used quality flour, yeast, homemade eggs, cheese made in farmers' households, but let's get closer to that taste.

20180311_134207.jpg

20180311_134446.jpg

These pies are only cooked on a wood stove, cooking them in this way will make your sense of smell go crazy.

20180311_134555.jpg

These pies taste great.......
20180311_150008.jpg

I'm sorry that when I took the pictures I didn't make more and clearer, but you see that then I wasn't part of such a big and beautiful community, I promise that on the next visit my aunt will make her cook these pies again and to show you in more detail the preparation procedure.

The name ,,pie,, is specific to the area and is easily confused with the word pie in other areas.

And so I influenced my aunt to prepare us, grandmother's very old recipe and also not to forget our habits.

Thanks to @galenkp for this great topic for the #week-engagement.

Until the next post I say goodbye and thank you for for passing by.

Sort:  

I'm pretty sure that you can now prepare this pie to the taste of your grandma? It's great seeing your sister influenced you in a positive way