Sort:  

Sounds like there might have been a specific event. Care to share?

My parents were professional Catholic. One brother of my father was a priest, and one of my brothers is also a priest.

For a long time, I had doubts. But, losing faith seemed to me a betrayal of my culture and education. And a betrayal of my father, even though he had already died.

I don't remember the title, but it was a book that triggered my decision to no longer believe in a personal god, one that judges each one of us and to whom we can ask for help or forgiveness.
I also noticed that religious people are not better than non-religious ones.

My mother died in 2018. So, for more than 15 years, I have been a non-believer while she was still living. We never spoke about it. I know that she knew, and she never tried to save me. During my sojourns in France, sometimes I would go to church with her, but not to communion.

We are 10 living siblings. In addition to my brother the priest, I believe that only my two eldest brothers are practicing. When I travel with my brother Philippe, I go to church with him too.