Weekend-Engagement 154: Study

If I could learn one thing, it would be to become a professional baker


Baking is a job that is often taken for granted compared to other jobs, but many don't realize that being a Professional Baker requires a lot of expertise, resources, and also a strong passion to be able to innovate to make a cake recipe that can be enjoyed by many people.

Some of my friends say that being a Baker is easy because you can learn it automatically, you only need to see recipes or tutorials on Youtube, and that's it. Thinking like my friend is only for those who like to make cakes not to be used as a career, and those out there who want to become Bakers professionally are not just a hobby.

I feel that being a Professional Baker is as difficult as any other field of work, a person needs a large amount of money to undergo Baker education or take special training which is usually expensive, and not just any can be followed because someone who wants to become a professional requires a strong will, strong commitment, and Dedicated to providing good service. Being a Baker does not only have to be good at baking cakes or being innovative in making recipes, a baker also has a responsibility to provide service and comfort to customers.


For example, I work as an IT programmer who has the task of completing all coding according to the tasks given by my managers, after the coding is correct and the program runs smoothly without errors, my job is complete. I no longer need to think about service, comfort, or customer feelings, whereas being a Baker, besides having to understand cake ingredients, how to bake properly, taste, and cake results, the baker must also be able to give positive feelings about what has been made. I think it's complex things that make it difficult to become a professional Baker.

I don't really understand how to become a professional Baker because my real job has nothing to do with it. I just felt that if I could go back in time and choose one discipline to study, I would study culinary arts and become a Baker.


Thank You @galenkp for the very interesting prompt this week. For all of you who want to take part in Weekend-Engagement writing topics: WEEK 154 if you want to join, and choose the available prompt according to your choice.

Sort:  

If I could learn one thing, it would be to become a professional baker

Any reason for this choice though because I'm sure there's many choices. what made you choose this one over the others

I really like to see a baker, something around food like chef. But, i think baker looks so cool and gentle😁