You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement topic week 62: Skills you have or want

Skills! I've said on more than on occasion "I have skillz!", but that has usually been in response to something completely spur-of-the-moment and happenstance that I'll never do again (like all-but-netting a one-armed 20 foot basketball hoop in a one-on-one game with my son).

I'm more like a jack-of-all-trades; or, in my case, a Vic-of-all-trades. Like you I've got power tools which are more fun to use than they ought to be, but I also like to dabble with photography, wood carving, and other craftsy type things. On occasion I mess with technology (I've built motion-sensors into clown paintings, for instance) and, really, work on whatever strikes me at the moment.

Here's a game I made from wood for one of my boys a couple Christmases ago:

20181221_190739.jpg

I know I cannot sing well. I love to sing. Love it. My boys hate it, so I've promised to only sing to them when I'm angry at them.

Sort:  

All that power tooling, photography and wood carving...You must be my grandfather! Those things were what he did and I've enduring memories of many days spent in his workshop helping (getting underfoot). Good skills though, working with one's hands is becoming a list art.

Singing...I hope I never get on your bad side and have to endure your singing-punishment although I have to warn you, I'm equally bad at singing so...Maybe a sing-off might occur. A battle-royale of salvo after salvo of terrible singing hurled at each other. It's called sing-martial-arts. SMA...Like MMA but way more brutal and effective.

Singing is one thing I did not like. Others may be ok but I don't have a voice to sing. Although one can still undergo training in order to know how to sing better

I sing like a deranged hippopotamus with a sore throat and bad attitude.

I think you have mad skills at just about anything you turn your hand to, Victor!

I love that you only sing to your boys when you are angry. That's one of the coolest skills ever...

I think he called himself jack of all trades. So, he is capable at all cost.

My, my, my... are you friends with Anne of all Trades? Jokes aside, that looks like a sweet game. I love to know about people who enjoy doing many things.

I know I cannot sing well. I love to sing. Love it. My boys hate it, so I've promised to only sing to them when I'm angry at them.

You can join the G-dog and myself in our steampunk zombie band of people who can get in tune. 🤣

Hey, thank you very much! I've really got some high hopes for that game and that it can be more than just a labour of love.

Steampunk zombie band! 😂 That sounds epic!

Hey, Richard Garfield didn't know his game was going to be the #1 trading card game in the world when he started out, so anything is possible!

Steampunk zombie band! 😂 That sounds epic!

Hell yeah! 😎

I like all the colors and that fact you built it is cooler than that but how is the game played?

It's The Royal Game of Ur. I wish I could say I designed the game, but I only physically constructed this one. I build games for my children each Christmas, and this was one of them. More details on the game are here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Game_of_Ur

You're a shoe-in for the dad of the year.

Aw, thanks! I love doing it, and I think it's such a nice change from the electronics that they get everywhere else. This year is going to be a 3D chess set, with subterranean, land, and air levels.

Are you psychic or have we met or wtf is it and how'd you know I'm a chess player?

Hahaha. My standard answer lately has been "Black Magic." I'll definitely post up about it when I am further along. If you want to take a peek at my other chess-inspired game, take a peek here: https://peakd.com/hive-176981/@wwwiebe/frogs-of-war

I can't make this up.

I had a fabrication shop back in early 2000's called Black Magic.

There is no harm in trying. You can try to learn how to sing better instead of saying that you do not know how to sing. Somi I cannot sing because I don't have the voice. But when you learn it you will know it the

Oh, I love to sing, and I do try to sing my best. It's the boys issue that they don't like it. 😃