What GUI would you suggest for a cross platform widget?

In order to introduce myself to Beem, one of the Python libraries for Hive, I decided to do a little project to make my time on hive a bit less annoying. Rather than switch back and forth between web interfaces, I thought I'd build a widget that hangs out on my desktop and I can quickly see my voting power. Maybe do a quick post. Maybe even get alerts when people post that I follow for easy upvoting.

I don't necessarily need to display the actual posts, as the various interfaces are fine for that, I just want to make a desktop widget to making Hiving a little easier.

I've looked into the various GUI's and debated between them, as I pretty much do every time I start a new project, and there are a ton of options, but I'm unsure of which to try to use.

On the one hand, I want it to be cross-platform, in case I manage to get it to a state that it's nice enough to share. On the other, having messed with a few of these, I know each has it's quirks, and the last time I made a widget, which was a while ago, I remember it being a PITA. There were various issues with transparency and being cross-platform as I recall. I remember I think I had a bitch of a time getting it to display right on Mac OS X. It kept wanted to either not display at all, or not be transparent.

I'm not sure that I need it to be Android compatible. I would need to go through a big hassle to even get it published for Android anyway, and there would be a bunch of issues with adapting it to an entirely different interface, so we can save that headache for another day.

So, what would you guys suggest? If there's anyone out there that has a suggestion that is.

Sort:  

I've never done GUI with python(or much with python to be honest) but when I was last looking at python, I checked out tkinter, https://docs.python.org/3/library/tkinter.html. Maybe it'll have what you need.