webDev() { working on my portfolio; } - [#1]

in Programming & Dev4 years ago

Quick intro: I am an aspiring front-end developer hoping to soon land my first job in the field (as an entry-level / junior front-ender). Though I've been recommended to become a freelancer, I do not feel confident enough to do so. For now I'd rather have a secure paycheck coming in every month and experienced co-workers to support me when needed.

In order to land a job in development it's important to have a portfolio of some sort to show off your skills, and this is what the post is about.

1.png
(My portfolio).

My portfolio


(Lol, sorry, mobile users).

As you can see it's not really a ''from scratch'' type of post - I've already put some work into my portfolio, but there's still a long way to go until it's near finished.

One of the practices I want to get myself into more is mobile-first development. So far I've done a couple of little projects that look better viewed from a bigger screen like a laptop or desktop but not that great on mobile, and I ought to fix that.

In case of responsiveness of my portfolio, I'd say I'm halfway there. Sure, the font size and design of the welcome screen needs some work, but I've got my navbar working - only displaying the ''HOME'' button when viewed on mobile, and a hamburger menu button on the right that opens a drop-down menu as you tap on it.

As for the projects section - I have a few projects on display as cards. They're displayed in a flexible divider that wraps them into one column on mobile, but I'm thinking of making them scroll horizontally instead for more convenience on smaller screens as I display more and more projects in the future. Plus I have to re-do the design of the cards (I mean come on, what the hell are they even?)

At the moment when you click on a project's picture, title or the little Codepen icon on the right to the title, they all take you to the project's Full Page View Codepen. I'm thinking of removing the Codepen links at one point and replacing them with Github Pages or Netlify pages generated from the corresponding Github repositories, and for the icon, a link to the repository.

Speaking of Github... I finally hit a 7-day streak with my commits!

3.png
(Sure, there aren't a lot of commits, but...)

I'm hoping to have my chart look greener in no time.


So, now that I've figured out what I want to change, I'll get right to it!

As for homework for you guys, let me know in the comment section about whatever popped in your mind reading this. Also, which way do you prefer pushing your commits? Through the terminal or using Github Desktop?

Sort:  

Here's me hoping for the best! A secure paycheck is always better than freelancers occasional income. And co-workers. Mostly a good thing. :D

Thanks! <3
I was lucky when it came to co-workers in my previous spot, which was as a guard - I got along with everyone and they were very supportive of me. Only reason I quit my job was that the length of my shifts struck upon my mental and physical health.

Too much work is always a bad thing if there's never enough free time. Brain gets no rest of it continues too long. Good thing that you don't have to work there anymore but sad that you lost nice co-workers.

I actually use WebStorm (or the Related Jetbrains Product) to commit to GitHub, it's integrated into my IDE so no extra programs required. It's a GUI, so more similar to GitHub desktop than CLI.

image.png

RE: Mobile First, I have had a lot of trouble handling some things in mobile browsers, and I'm currently having that same conundrum with some of my Websites. I'm not a very big mobile internet user, so I guess I am biased into thinking that a mobile view isn't so important.

I feel like a lot of my portfolio has Expired (my portfolio website is probably about a year old at this point) and the only thing that I keep updated is my GitHub profile readme 😂

image.png

Your portfolio looks really nice and if I had enough money, I'd be happy to hire you! You'd probably get the mobile end of the stick though 😂

I really like the README on your profile. It's a great touch! I feel like snitching it 😂

That's fine, I borrowed it from someone else too!

Hi there! Can I find you on discord?:)

Hey! Of course! My handle is xves#7147