No Guts. No Glory!

in The Ink Welllast month

I have heard the phrase “no glory without a story” many times. But I couldn’t get to understand what it truly meant.

Right from my childhood days, I have always wanted to live a happy life, a life that's way better than that of my Dad. I have seen him struggle a lot and I can't blame him because of that.

He is our father and I can see him trying his best. But at some point, I felt he was not doing it enough because I saw other kids' parents struggle and go beyond the limit just for their kids.

I forgot the fact that personal health matters. I was carried away by the rosy life of other families and failed to realize the blessings in our very own family. Many times I have thought about the reason why my dad wasn't a politician and had a lot of money, built big mansions, and also had many cars.

But he was just content with the nature of his work that kept bringing him some amount for the family to survive on.

If dad was a business tycoon, at least our life wouldn’t have been like this. Maybe I would have money to buy an Android phone at the right time, maybe I would have some extra funds to get new clothes. A lot of thoughts in my head. But I didn't know the reason why Dad was that way until I experienced it myself.

Life went on, as time flew.

I got into the university, and this same struggle had been a part of me since childhood but at least I managed to get into the institution. Mum would call me alone in the middle of the day and late in the night.

“Abdulqudus! Please know the son of whom you are. And know the home you came from”

This phrase got so consistent in my hearing to the extent that anytime I am alone about to think of her, I will remember those words and her actions.

My first year in the institution wasn’t so fair, but I did my best and moved on to the next year. And that’s when I met these friends of mine.

Julius was dark in complexion, his cheeks were so drained and his eyeballs were fixed deep into his eye socket. His facial appearance clearly shows that he is also not from a rich background just like me.


Myself, Julius, and Timileyin. Year 2016

He walks in a way that I would most times make fun of him and laugh because of the way his trousers look so big on him. But Julius didn’t allow that to define him.

Our second year wasn't much of a difference, but way better than that of our first year. We told ourselves stories of how we survived the first year and also hoped our five years in the university would have better days ahead.

“Remember the son of who you are”. I felt our parents had this in common. When our discussion got to our parents, Julius also made mention of this. That’s when I knew he was the kind of friend I could move with.

Our third year in the university got better, yet I could also remember how we struggled to get transport fare down to school and wait for free rides from lecturers to take us home.
But things got a turnaround when I joined Steemit that year. I was introduced to the platform by my brother.

As much as I realized I could earn money from the platform, I was focused and determined, I made sure I earned something that could cater to my needs. It became obvious that I was doing something to fetch me money. Julius challenged me one day.

I introduced Julius to the platform and he was trying to make a wave too. But I did far better than him. I was more focused and interested in blogging. But Julius was rather interested in something else.

He left blogging, but I didn’t. I was earning consistently from blogging, but Julius rather focused on airdrops and token launches. He read a lot of PDFs on crypto projects and how to trade and earn from trading. In the end, I was still focused on blogging.

When we got to our final year. Julius was sent out of his hostel by his roommate because he couldn’t afford to pay his rent then. They did him wrong, he explained to me and found someone to share a room with for him.

One day Julius woke up with great excitement. He got a token drop from the Trust wallet token (TWT) then. The money was a huge one then. He was so happy to have his dreams come true after years of consistency.

After that token drop he received. Julius began to hit his jackpot from then on, he got good fortunes coming his way.

I was happy for him, but I also wished to hit that jackpot. I became jealous, but I tried to control it. Julius packed up from his hostel and went to get a nice apartment. He furnished his room very well and also bought nice clothes and fancy shoes. Julius became the talk of the street. I was surprised at how fast Julius changed from grace to grace.


Julius and Myself. Year 2021

With time, I got closer to him and asked him to teach me how to trade and hunt airdrops, which he did. The more he kept explaining to me, the harder it gets. At some point when I started hunting for airdrops, I got headaches. I realized that wasn't my way. I was just childishly envious of him.

I got back to blogging again and gained my strength. I realized it was unwise of me to have forgotten my blessings and got carried away.

To date, I am still blogging and Julius is out there with his crypto hunts and trading. We are now gurus in our fields and respect each other for our consistency and dedication.

I learned the reason why Dad was not a politician or a business tycoon. But he is just himself and our father.


All Images are mine;


![](

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Everyone has their path in life to success. The good thing is that you and your friend; Julius, are doing well in your respective field of interest.

Yeah that’s just it. No bad feelings at all. And life goes on.

It's a human trait to want more and desire what others have without having a clear understanding of their lives. We forget that there's a destiny for us all, rather than covet, we should work hard with diligence wherever life places us and be grateful and someday, we would make it.
I enjoyed reading your story @abdul-qudus

Sincerely, you said it all in just a paragraph. The summary of the whole write up.

That’s life for us, we tend to forget our own blessings and look up to that of others. But it’s best to realize one’s worth and path early before it’s too late.

I pray God make us remain steadfast on our commitment towards achieving our goals

People always want a happy life. But we have come to know happiness and what is a happy life. Grief always comes by itself. But happiness has to be earned. You have always wanted to be happy, it is the wish of everyone's heart. Some are fulfilled and some are not. You directed your happy life story by enjoying the moments spent with your friend very much. Keep such friendship alive forever in your heart. I hope to God you have a happy life. There are many things that bring joy to the smile of a friend wearing big clothes. As a child, we were also made fun of by the way we behaved in college.

That’s just it. Life has its way of teaching us some lesson we don’t have to pay for. But it becomes useful for us over a lifetime.

I really appreciated the journey so far and I am grateful to God for that.

Thanks so much for the compliment.

A beautiful story, I'm so captivated. Success doesn't come easy.

Yeah. Thanks so much for stopping. Success is indeed a journey.

Thank you for this meaningful story, @abdul-qudus! it takes some time for the maturing process in which people learn to use their own resources and to understand that each one chooses the way to lead one's own life. It brings a lot of joy that your father's image is respected by you.

Yeah. I really respect him a lot. Now that I get to learn and see more to life. It ain’t easy.

Thanks so much for the compliments

Congratulations @abdul-qudus! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thanks hive buzz

You're a true inspiration @abdul-qudus! Your daily posts on Hive are making a big impact. Keep up the great work!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Okay will check it out. Thanks for the compliments

You're welcome @abdul-qudus. Looking forward to getting your support for our proposal 🙂⏳

wow, you have shared a masterpiece with us here friend, our little beginnings are where the most interesting part of our stories are formed.

Remember the son of who you are”

Just like you, I have constantly being reminded of these words in every stage of my life and it has kept focused in pursuing my dreams.

That’s it. God bless our parents and guardians. Their morals have shaped our way of life for better.

Thanks so much for the compliment

Ḩmmm, a very wonderful story, I'm glad you both made it in your individual fields.

Yeah. I am also happy about that. Thanks for the nice words

You are welc

What a great learning experience life gave you when you realized that success is very personal and the important thing is to value what you decide to do. Your father is an excellent example for you.
Thank you @abdul-qudus for sharing your story

Yeah. I appreciate life lessons too. And I am grateful for how far I have come to realize that and moved on with life. Thanks so much for the great words

I was engrossed in the story that I wanted to skip to the end when your friendship didn't get scarred by the envy that was beginning to build up. I'm glad it didn't. Congratulations to you both. And, I'm glad you understand your dad the more you grow.

Yeah. It really didn’t. I believe everyone has their own lives to life. And I won’t gain anything from comparing or competing again anyone. So why don’t I just channel that energy towards my path and wait for the best timing.

Thanks so much for reading through.

You made a great decision. You're welcome.

Being jealous of your friend is nature. We all have this kind of jealous character but then our oath can never be the same.

Things do work the way we want them but not what we were hungry to have. Our future is always our future no matter the situation. So, being tied to what we are doing now is always what we love doing. It's not our power but our nature and it can't be changed.

It is very common to imagine that the grass on the other side is greener. We tend to look down on what we have and start hunting for what appears better. When the expectations are not met, we come back and embrace what we have. Thank you for the valuable story.