Expectation (poetry)

in The Ink Well4 years ago (edited)

images - 2020-05-16T190242.896.jpegsource


I wish I never ask;
I thought it would be easier.
The thought of becoming a man,
Thought I could have all I ever dreamed.
I forgot expectations breed no sleep.
Just like a mason building a castle in the air,
Of what use?

I never stop hoping,
To get what all I ever wanted.
My expectations are enormous
But adversity entangled with life makes it difficult.

I wish I could be like them.
So I could rest in nature,
And not the God of nature
Only to go home without a meal and cause the bread.

I love another and thus hate myself
I crave for love but find no Joy.

Had I know, I wouldn't have asked for more,
Thought, I could have it all,
But I was mistaken.
It was all vanity.

Of what use is the wisdom of a fool?
Who thought of everything he had,
and those to come only to smile and grin in self-glory.
But failed to see the following day.

There is nothing wrong with being optimistic,
But never expect too much from life.
People can be deceitful.
Many are cunny in their ways;
No truth whosoever.
Never be deceived by a sugarcoated tongue that only takes delight in ruining life.

Lower your expectations;
Not everything is possible to get;
For the factor at stake.

What belongs to you is what you work for;
Don't say why can't it be me?
Why can't I get more from the pool?
Why will they act like that to me?

At least I was there when they needed me;
So why couldn't they reciprocate?
Never expect too much from life.
If you do, depression is not far away.

Sort:  

Expectation kills.