THE KING'S WORDS

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

king-1304612__480.jpg
source

I had the opportunity to meet with the king, he showed me around the palace. "There is still a man i will like you to meet before you go back to your place, his name is James." The King said. he took me to a place where the chief and the noblemen were sitting. I turned to look at those on the thrones next to us, then I recognized a man who was close by.

"Sir, I know you from somewhere, maybe from my friend's place but i just can't remember where i know you from." I said.

"You used to see me in your neighborhood," he replied.

I immediately remembered, and was very surprised! he use to be a homeless man name (James) I was very curious to know have found up in the king's palace. He started telling me his story. "I was born into a poor family. I was abused and kept in an isolated place until I was found by the government when I was ten years old. I was been transferred from one place to another, where the abuse continued, and I was finally turned out on the streets.

"A lot of people live in very comfortable houses, yet they do not appreciate them but i would be very happy to see a cardboard box to sleep on a cold night. i would love everybody and everything. i would be happy more over a mango than some people do over a wonderful meal." James said.

I was very touched by his story. I begged him to continue, "I will love to hear more." I said.

"When a little kitten wandered into my way, I still keep from hurting the kitten though i had rage in my heart. I was very poor but I would not steal. I would starve, but I would not take anything that was not mine. I would buy my food with what he could make collecting bottles, and sometimes would find someone who would let me clean their yard. I didn't know that the king had been noticing me all the while I was showing love to people with the little I had. one day, i was invited to come to the palace and the king made me one of his chiefs." James said.

I was very surprised to see james here because i would pass by him many times and i even pointed him out to one of my friends and spoke badly of him. I now looked at James, a chief sitting on a throne far more wonderful than solomon could have even imagined. He had a lot of messengers round about him, waiting to do his bidding. I turned to the king in shame, I still could not believe what i was seeing.

"If you had not passed him by, he would have taught you to love." the King said.

The King also said to me that should not judge a book by its cover. those words of the king will forever be in my heart.

Sort:  

You definitely cannot tell a book by its cover. That is a good message in your story, @ayin.

Just so you are aware, we are now asking all community members to publish just one story weekly in The Ink Well.

We also have some tips for you. The Ink Well has some great resources in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
We recommend the article, Help for the Grammatically Challenged, which provides important tips on how to use Google Docs to draft your stories. It will point out errors that need to be fixed, and you can fix them by clicking on them.

The Ink Well is devoted to encouraging quality fiction writing and community engagement. You will find if you take the time to improve your writing and fix grammatical errors, you will receive higher curation on your posts.