You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ren du Lot, the shit lawyer

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Ok, perhaps here. You are correct in using the singular:
Neither his father nor his paternal grandfather was calling themselves Counts. I'm pretty sure "himself" would be more correct here. Easiest fix would be to remove the "was" -- oh dear. I've been out of college for more than three decades. And the rules have changed anyway. Webster's accepted "impact" as a verb in the early 1980s, and language evolves, and trivial nits just don't seem to concern 99.9% of readers anyway, so why bother? I declare your English to be exemplary, and that's my final verdict. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your comments. However, I think I will leave themselves.

You are the first one to send any comment about my English and I really appreciate that.