You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Remind me this is not all: A plea for justice, a prayer for peace, a search for happy memes

in The Ink Well4 years ago

Of all the people I know, Rhonda, only you have told me your also loved Captain Kitty in your childhood. More of that synchronicity!
When you were writing High Kill, you used to mention your research, those horrific videos you'd find. You're tougher than I am. In "Stonehaven" I mentioned snuff videos but I could never watch kittens under high-heeled shoes... girls being suffocated... people dismembered... just reading about drug cartels is lurid enough. To watch Jihadi John behead a Christian, an American: I'd close my eyes.
You make a compelling point about the suffering of innocents. In the Midwest, foster parents have collected money for the kids in their care, only to lock them up and let some of them starve to death. I could not make this up. It's also recent, not some 1970s story. Department of Human Services is run by idiots, incompetents, or fellow torturers. How do we collectively rise up against such evil, when it hides behind closed doors? It's not as obvious as the Gestapo coming for our Jewish neighbors. It's insidious.
Thanks for reading and commenting! And may "High Kill" gain more readers every day.