Peace At All Times

in The Ink Welllast year

Najmul Hasan

Peace At All Times

Peace is what I always long for. There is something no one can understand about me when I'm in a friendship with someone. I'm the type who always makes sure that my friendship with someone is always made intact. Cutting off friends is not in my veins but making them understand what I term trust in me is my watchword.

Being friends with people is the best and the fastest thing ever, but being able to keep the friendship intact is the hardest thing ever.

When we talk about peace, it's a means of keeping calm even in times of distress. I knew vividly that trust is the sole of keeping one's relationship alive. Everyone who knows about trust wants to make it possible to keep their friends tightly instead of letting them apart.

I'm one of those who do these acts.

I had a childhood friend with whom we had always been together. Although, we met when we were in secondary school back 90s and now I'm still keeping this friendship intact. I mean I'm but not we are. There is a great difference between the two words I'm and we are. I will elaborate on this later.

Anytime we get a loggerhead, I always want to make peace with him even when he is wrong. Although sometimes I would be wrong, he is always wrong. So, to keep the boat sailing, I don't talk back and even when I do, I apologize and we come back to being who we were. I always made peace with him at all times.

He is the type who has a hard temper and deep in me, I'm just like water that can quench his temperament. When he is at loggerheads with someone out there, he would not want to listen to anyone except when I'm with him. He would want to fight it out and sometimes when I tried to intrude or calm him down, he turned everything back to me. I would be the topic of the day to him for intruding or for not fighting together with him.

After arguing, I would apologize but would make him understand that life is not about fighting back but instead calming and peaceful. I would tell him that he should know that the one who separates two fighters is the savior of the two fighting, but that person who joins the fight is not just creating enmity but creating an everlasting hatred between the two fighting. Third parties are made to make peace but not to cause problems.

I have at all times made him see the true meaning of peace.

Now, back to I'm and we are

When I had my dad's burial last December, he bought something from my family just for us to get the burial done. I was insisting on not selling it to him but my brothers and sisters insisted. After a month, he turned out to return what we had sold for him just because of an issue. We could not hold it, but accepted and promised to pay back his money.

This has been causing differences between the two of us since last year. I have been trying to always call him to check up on him but he is the type who does not want to listen. There is no day we would not talk to each other on phone for more than 20 minutes daily, and now, the case has reversed. His aim is for his money but not friendship and mine is for our friendship to continue. He helped and now he is seeing us, my family, as people who want to cheat him for not returning his money.

I stand for peace and I will always make peace with him as always. The money would be refunded but to me, our relationship would continue. I don't love breaking friendships so easily.

We hardly speak daily, but I am always trying to call as always.

Sometimes when you are financially handicapped, you would look for all means to forsake your friends, but I'm not the kind of person that would forsake his friends who had been with me and had dined together. I stand in for peace and can always make peace at all times…

Sort:  

It’s always difficult to understand and accommodate a difficult friend who has anger issues. You’ve done a good job of describing your friendship with a person who isn’t always easy to be with. Peace, of course, is the ultimate aim.

Thank you for sharing a piece of your life with us and for engaging with the community in general.

He is truly very hard to be with

When a man is at peace with his neighbour, even his for come in doubt of harming him. This African saying goes to tell us that graceful coexistence is what we need to live the life that encourages continuity and love.
A man of peace is always at peace within.

You are so correct about that. A man of peace would always want peace at all times...

Wow, this is lovely. Peace is the only thing that will keep friendship going. But just like you said when one is financial unstable, friends begin to unfriend him. Just like the common Nigerian dating " when money dey, friends go dey, when money no dey friends go go".

Peace is good but boundaries are necessary too especially when a person keeps taking you for granted. You can be at peace with them and still avoid them.

I think you are right

You value your relationship to your friends well, that is a rare trait to be honest. I admire those kind of men in the society.

Thanks a lot.

Your friend is not an easy person to deal with I can tell. I would love to tell you that there is a line between being there and taking everything that is being dished out to you. I hope you protect your peace with that friend of yours.

I will try to....

You're such a peacemaker. I personally hate giving up on friendships. But I can't keep trying to reach someone who isn't trying to reach me as well.

Good luck on your quest to keep your friendship going.

This is the kind of person he is but I don't quit so easily.

I admire you for keeping peace, money is nothing compare to friendship. You have a good heart, others would have become so angry and ended the relationship. I love the response you are giving to the issue

The only true nature of man is to keep friend.