Scenic Views - #1

in The Ink Well4 years ago
}

Hi Everyone!

I hope you're excited to read my first Scenic View prompt. I'm using beard as my Story Prompt for this one. See you on the other side.


image.png

[The Beards of Power]


Power Beards

There was power in having the longest beard possible. It was a litmus test for all the greatest Wizards in the world. Not a single Great Master had a beard that was less than 2 feet long. I scratched at the patchy stubble that made my face look like I was a Hair Leper. I gave the mirror a fist-shake and turned away.

I had been growing mine now for almost 12 years without success. I was not genetically-inclined to grow a beard and, thus, would never find the follicall that so many Wizards talked about with each other. They would present their beard as a standard of strength. If that were true, then what would mine say of me?

I heard the creek of the door and continued as if nothing was happening. "Hello Harold."

My roommate squawked like an injured bird. "How do you do that? I was quiet that time. I know I was."

"Not quiet enough." I touched my ridiculously-oversized ears.

He gave a short laugh. "Yeah, I forgot about the Hooli blood in you."

I rolled my eyes, not liking the derogatory term that so many used without even thinking. It wasn't so much that it meant anything really bad, it was just used disparagingly in the History Books. Evanides the Gray Willer used to use it to insult people that he didn't like, especially if they were full-blooded Human.

Harold saw the look on my face and remembered how I felt. "I'm sorry, I've apparently been around the wrong people."

He came over and gave me a quick hug. I squirmed inside. I made sure to stay stone-silent and stone-still while he preened over me. He even rubbed my chin and smiled, giving it a closer inspection.

I finally huffed and he relinquished, pleased that he had finally broken me to frustration. "Leave it! I know you and your Claudius are doing well. You don't need to keep rubbing it in!"

He ruffled my flowing locks of gold and silver like he was my older brother, even though I was at least 25 years older than him. Then again, he would be long dead at 3 or 4 hundred while I would still be in my Torger stage. Sorry, I keep forgetting that you are Human. I meant Older Adolescence stage.

He flopped back on the bed and whistled. "You know what?"

"What?" I responded with irritation heavy in my voice.

"I don't think you're cut out for this."

That one stung. I couldn't believe he had said that. I flashed anger and gasped, feeling a flood of power. My whole body tingled.

I glanced at Harold, who had the dumbest look on his face. He just pointed to the mirror. I turned and a stranger stared back at me. This majestic beast had a full Gandalf! I looked down at my chest and saw the illustrious strands of silver and gold flowing down past my knees.

"Damn, dawg!" Harold piped in, not a hint of mockery in his voice. "I guess you showed me."

I weaved a spell and sent the bed spinning around the room, smiling at the sudden green tint to Harold's skin. I used a wall of force to stay clean. Then I left him and his stupidity and vertigo in the room and walked out, not needing the University's Teachings any longer.

The End


Thank you to everyone for reading my story! If you like it, please Upvote and Reblog and tell all your Hive-minded friends to come and take a look!