Scenic Views - #3

in The Ink Well4 years ago
}

Hi everyone! Here I come again with another Writing Trip to show a Scenic View based off of a Random Word/Image/Concept. Today I'm going to use the word tablets. Now let's see what kind of image I find from the word:



The Tablet

I ran my hand over the smooth stone once more. I couldn't believe I had found it after so many years of digging. I would have been severely disappointed had I not found it, and I was this close to giving up. For anyone that can't see me, I'm holding my fingers about an inch apart. That close. But I had found it.

I read the words again: "Be not the cautious one who must in dire reasoning find solace, for the tears of the divine shall heal and give notice of the final days."

I was not alone in the canvas structure. It was filled to the brim with people trying to crane their necks and stroke my ego. It felt nice. I felt really good, knowing all these people had come to hear his account of what was truly a long, arduous and boring personal adventure.

I noticed the young man with the unkempt hair approach the stone and trace the lines. Then I watched his lips move as he read the words. By now, of course, I had recounted the tale many times and had translated the message more than a dozen times.

The young man's brow wrinkled as I watched. Then I saw him turn and smile. It was then that I knew he could translate. His soft laughter never reached my ears, but I imagined the crackling, gravelly chuckle that belied his youth.

I grinned back at the Lord of Death and nodded. The buzzing of flies followed the dropping bodies. I breathed in the stench of rot and the scent of my successes.

The End


Thank you to everyone for reading my story! If you like it, please Upvote and Reblog and tell all your Hive-minded friends to come and take a look!

I would love to hear your interpretation of this scene!

Sort:  

Interesting story, @dbzfan4awhile. You asked for opinions on the story, so I will share a few thoughts. I wasn't quite able to follow. I think if you added more details it would help the reader to understand the location, setting and situation. Here are a few examples, in case it helps.

I was not alone in the canvas structure. It was filled to the brim with people trying to crane their necks and stroke my ego.

Ah, here I learn that this narrator is in a canvas structure surrounded by people. This is the third paragraph, so I had no vision of where the story was taking place until now. Who are the people? Why are they stroking the narrator's ego? And who is this narrator? An archeologist, perhaps?

In the same paragraph:

I felt really good, knowing all these people had come to hear his account of what was truly a long, arduous and boring personal adventure.

As this is the first reference to any individual other than himself (or herself), I don't understand who he is referring to when he says "knowing all these people had come to hear his account."

Those are a few examples of where just a little more information would help us to better understand what is going on. Where is this land? What is the scenario that led to this person standing in front of people talking about a stone tablet? Why are people dropping dead?

This story has the makings of a very interesting tale that I would love to read, but with so many details left out, it's very hard to follow. I hope this helps you!

Also, an additional important note: please be sure to use your own images, or images from creative commons sites (e.g. Pixabay, Unsplash) and cite the source for your images.

Thanks for those points. Really I just wrote it up as a sort of first-draft of a scene. If I push this into a longer story or look to submit it somewhere to be published, I'll definitely take those suggestions into account to edit and polish.

As for the image, oh I hadn't noticed I forgot the link. I'm still not completely used to the Hive format yet.

I have a question, since you've been so helpful... why does that left bracket always seem to appear when I Post even though I don't see it while I am writing?

Thanks!

Hello @dbzfan4awhile,

If I push this into a longer story or look to submit it somewhere to be published,

The plan for the Ink Well is to develop it so that it becomes a go-to place on the Internet for stunning short stories and, through that, to create an alternative, long-term income for writers. We are looking for stories that are developed and finished, although occasionally there is a place for a post talking about the process of writing.

You can find out more about plans for The Ink Well in the latest newsletter.

I'm not sure which left bracket you are talking about (I cannot see one in your post) but the lefthand line in the previous comment and this one denotes a quote.

!ENGAGE 25

Oh, that would be great! If we're looking at the Ink Well to be that go-to, then I'll spend some time editing these short stories to make them that much better. I read the latest newsletter and that's very exciting to know!

Would I need to be more than just a Guest in the Ink Well community to take part in that?

Side note (re:the bracket), here's what I see at the beginning of my Post:

}
Hi everyone!