You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Ink Well Fast and Furious Festival - Day Two DONE

I had to make that fight worthy of the energy of that famous painting, so of course it had to be epic!

I am a student of the Civil War, and I remembered having read about Grant's real-life headache. I've also read his memoirs ... he is just about as vivid about the horrors of war, and said once that the only thing anyone ever wanted to do after a battle was to help the wounded men no matter their affiliation, because it was so horrible. The Civil War also created a record number of amputees, and there was also a run of small pox and yellow fever going on ... so, throw all that together ... I also owe some of that description to reading Eugene Sledge's account of World War II in With the Old Breed.

Reality is actually much stranger than fiction ... I vastly simplified Grant's reasons for "granting" RIDICULOUSLY generous terms. The walk to the infirmary highlights one reason, but there were reasons that the mind of fiction could not make up, one of which involved a younger Lieutenant Grant meeting and being awe-struck by the Captain of Engineers who was Winfred Scott's adjutant during the Mexican War ... and him not wanting to kill that man who STILL overawed him, 19 years and a whole Civil War later.

Sort:  

Thank you for that description. I am a student of history, and most especially fond of primary sources.

Thank you for the recommendations (!). When I graduated from high school I actually was awarded a medal for interest in American history. I went on to major in history as an undergraduate. I realized when I read your piece that you were well-informed on the subject. It was a pleasure to read.

My mother wanted to major in history, but her parents dissuaded her -- jobs and such -- but she passed her interest on to me. It is always a pleasure to know that another student of history takes pleasure in the handling of it ... thanks for that!