SWERVE!

in The Ink Welllast year


Pixabay - Manfrerichter edited on Canva Pro

The sun beat down on Croc city, the air hot and humid, yet it buzzed with life, people walking to and from somewhere.

Lillian sauntered gingerly down the stairs of the CD store unto the street, her eccentric green and yellow hair a contrast to the sharp suits and pony tails meandering the tarred roads.

She bobbed her head occasionally to the music blasting from her headphones, earning funny looks from passers-by but she did not seem at all bothered.

Getting to a T junction, she paused to get a good look at the road before taking the leap to the other side. Just a few cars from both sides. As she waited patiently for the pedestrian sign to turn green, a black Mercedes parked by the corner caught her attention. It was decorated with pink ribbons and has a sign that read 'Bride'. She gave a low hum and turned towards the road.

She chanced a glance at a woman and a toddler across, the boy seemed to be testing his legs, shrieking in that usual toddler style. The woman was on a bench, her head buried in a book but she lifted it at the call of her...son?

Lillian smiled thoughtfully but her smile was immediately ripped off her face when she saw the approaching truck and the fast pacing toddler.

No!

Without thinking she dashed across the street, just in time to push the oblivious baby and...

C-R-A-S-H!


Lillian felt the blood rushing in her ears, her whole body paralyzed with shock. The baby cried loudly in the background of her dazed mind, the mother hysterical as she held onto him.

People had gathered around, some with their cell phones out, others making calls. Lillian let two men help her to her feet, the ringing in her ears still poignant and loud drowning the other noise.

She heaved, her chest in knots as she chanced a look at the truck. It swerved just in time. Just in time to knock into the traffic pole. She could see trails of blood and the cloudy smoke. Her veins chilled to the bone!

In the distance, she heard the unmistakable wail of an ambulance. A woman had walked up to her and assisted her to seat on the bench. The woman was saying something, but Lillian heard nothing. She just saw her lips move.

Her vision blurred, her heart pounding, the adrenaline rush making the hairs on her stand on end. The paramedics were quick, two making their way over from the scene.

A young blonde and an African-American man with a buzz cut.

"Are you okay? Are you hurt?"

Lillian's eyes focused on the young woman with much effort, her body shaking.

"Do you feel any pain?" The young blonde asked again

Lillian shook her head, she felt she was slowly coming to.

"It's going to be fine. You're okay." She said rubbing her arms tenderly.

Lillian looked across the street, her mind a warp of emotions.

"Is...?" She choked out

"Unconscious. He is still breathing. Now, I want you to breathe for me, love."

Lillian nodded headily, taking in shaky breaths.

"Would you like to go to the hospital? Make sure you're okay?"

"No," Lillian held a hand up, "I'm fine. He didn't hit me, but the boy...I..." Lillian turned to look and the African-American was attending to a hysterical toddler. The mother was no better, sobbing loudly with him in her arms.

"He is okay. You were very brave sweetheart! You did well."

"Yes," a woman said from behind Lillian. The same who'd guided her to the bench. Only then did Lillian notice that the woman must have been with her all this time.

"I watched it all happen," the woman continued. She looked mid-thirties dressed in a pencil skirt and a dress shirt, "and I know this must be a very...difficult experience."

The woman paused and searched her bag, taking out a card and placing it in Lillian's shaky hands.

"This is the card of my friend. She is a great therapist and just in case you need someone to talk to. She will help you."

Lillian nodded slowly, muttering her thanks. The blonde paramedic soon left her to attend to other matters and so did the woman who gave her the card.

Lillian sat on the bench, staring down at the expensively designed card while the whole experience replayed in her head like a conjured illusion. The adrenaline had wore off and she was left with fear. But most of all, she was alive.

She lived!


Story Inspired by the song HOPE by NF and also my entry to The Ink Well Fiction Prompt #105

© Deraaa, 17th February, 2023.
This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, business, events and incidents are the products of the author's imagination. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.


Contact Me:

Discord
Twitter
Facebook
Instagram



Sort:  

What a gripping story! I admire Lillian's bravery and selflessness in saving the toddler from harm, even at the cost of risking her own safety. Your vivid descriptions of the accident scene and the range of emotions that followed are relatable. Well done! 🙂

Thank you so much ma! I really appreciate your comment and warm thoughts. Thank you❤️


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @deraaa ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

So this was this new song that had you so excited😏. This is a beautiful story. I was enraptured with the way you artfully went from each event, that single look at the car, the incoming truck, that nanosecond thought that the baby had to be saved.... written like a well scripted movie.🥰 !LUV

Thank you so much sweetheart! I still feel a lot was lacking though. I just can't point what it is. I appreciate you warm comment!

Well done with the three prompt words, @deraaa. Your story is unique and interesting, and full of high drama. Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment. I am really grateful

It was thrilling and I had goosebumps in your story, especially in the accident part.
I had an accident similar to the story so I just remember my experience before.
You've written this well!

Thank you very much. I am really grateful! And I am glad you liked it. I am glad that you survived your experience.

Your story is both unique and interesting, full of high drama that kept me on the edge of my seat until the very end. Thank you for sharing your work with us

I am grateful. Now, if I could just learn to skip the drama part and fully incorporate the elements of good writing, I'd be really happy. Hahahaha. I appreciate your warm comment and !LUV

Thank you for your LUV ☺️

This is brilliantly-written !LADY 😍 It was as if I was watching every scene and felt the emotions as I read through the words.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @deraaa and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (12/14 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thank you so much my lady!!❤️❤️

Oh, dee. This Story is superb. I could feel her heart racing and all. You did amazingly well with your character.

Ahhhh. I'm so sorry for the late reply!!!! So sorry. Thank you so much for your beautiful comment. ❤️❤️

Hehe....it is okay, Sis.

The good thing is she lived and nobody died
Great write up
I love the outcome of the story

Thank you a bunch! I apologize for replying just now. She was brave. Thank you

Was it a fiction story or a real one?
While I was reading, It gave me a vibe like it was a real story.
Anyway, I enjoyed it.

Thank you so much for the comment Dreemer! I apologize for the late reply. It depends on who experienced it. It's not a true story from my part just something I have vividly imagined. I really appreciate you ❤️

I apologize for the late reply

No need to say it. I can understand we all have a busy life and sometimes it happens to all of us.

This one you're already doing stories 8nspired by the song😂😂😂

@deraa please rest😂😂😂, I'm sharing the tune tomorrow please 🥺😂😂.

And the story was great by the way😀, although I guess you already know that😂😂😂

Haha. I think it was lacking a lot but thank you so much. i see that you shared the tune. I really love that song. Hehe

It's my favorite now😭😭
Right up there with Chasing, Intro 3 and Outro

So I've been missing a lot, not coming to the ink well often, this story is superb, brilliantly written, I felt every action played out while reading, you write so well, I will come often now to have an interesting and relaxing fun read.

Ha! Thank you so much. I'm so sorry for replying late. Was sick. I'm glad you enjoyed it and that you're inspired to come over to the InkWell. Maybe I'll get to read a story of yours???

Thank you so much and I still practice. It takes a lot of practice. I feel like I still have a lot of growing to do. I really appreciate your warm thoughts!