Strange Feelings

in The Ink Well8 months ago (edited)

pexels-photo-2008146.jpeg
Pexels

It's been from one trouble to the next. My grand mom once said to me, "Randy, you were born stubborn. I don't know where you got that gene. I hate that about you." And you can imagine my silent reply - I smiled. I felt so much pleasure that my grand mom had strong anger towards me. At least, she felt something about me. And now, I've grown into a young man, without any sense of humor or regard for anyone.

The irony of it is that ladies love me. I have more than 6 girlfriends, and they're all aware that I'm dating other girls, and they don't just care. Another irony is that, I'm the richest of all my siblings. I have two big brothers and one kid sister. But honestly, comparing my financial status to theirs, is like comparing a mountain to an ant hill. I may not show it, but I love my family very much, and I'd do anything for them - I send each of them big cheques every now and then. And I pay professionals to take good care of my grand mom.

I've not been home for about 9 years now. My grand mom called me, "Randy, please come home. Don't you want to see me, your grand mom? I've missed you. Please my boy, come home. Please." I went silent, but I could hear her crying. "Your siblings always come around to visit me. But you don't. Did I wrong you Randy?"

"No grand mom. You've not wronged me."

"I feel strength leaving my body Randy. I feel weak. I may not have much time. I want to see you one more time. Please."

I paused for about 7 seconds. Inhaled and exhaled heavily, "Okay grand mom. I'll be home tomorrow." I could hear the jubilation in her tearful voice, "Thank you my boy."

"Yeah. Bye."

I arrived home the next day, I opened the door. And in the living room, I saw a young lady, in pink bum short, and a spaghetti purple singlet, her skin was flawless, and her thighs glowed like the sun. Her face was smooth and gentle. She was quite a wonder.

"And who are you?" I asked her. "I'm Rose. I'm a nurse, I take care of Mama Janet. You must be her grand son Randy?"

"Yeah. Where's my grand mom?"

"Here I am." My grand mom opened the curtain, leading to her bedroom. She struggled with her walking stick, leaping slightly, as she walked towards me. I was overwhelmed to see her - it's been almost a decade. I rushed to assist her. Instead she hugged me tightly, and kissed my cheeks. "Rhhh. Grand mom, stop that. I'm not a kid anymore." She smiled, "My stubborn Randy."

I helped her sit down. And I sat beside her. She told me about her recent dreams. "I've been seeing your dad and mom in my dreams. They're happy together. They're calling me, to join them. And I'm old and tired now. I'm ready to join them." I was quiet.

"I've never told you Randy. Of all your siblings, I've loved you the most. Even though you've been the most stubborn." I smiled softly.

"But please, don't tell them I told you so." I laughed.

"Of course not grand mom."

I struggled as I said the words, "Honestly, I've missed you too grand mom." She smiled, and rubbed my side beards with her hand. And she held my right hand.

"What do you think about the nurse Rose?"

"Well, she seems nice. But does she always dress that way? I'd have expected her to be wearing a nurse uniform or something."

"Oh, I asked her to dress that way, since you said that you're coming around today."

"But why?"

"Here's the thing Randy. I've caught Rose staring at your pictures on the wall many times. I think she likes you."

"Hahaha. Grand mom, you've started."

My grand mom called out, "My daughter, where are you?" Rose ran into the living room, "Mama, here I am."

"Come here." And Rose came closer. My grand mom held her hand, and joined my hand with Rose's hand. She turned to me, "Randy, I want you to make this girl your wife." My eyes opened widely, and I pulled my hand away.

"Grand mom, come again. Because I don't think I heard you right." Rose was standing before us, shocked at my grand mom, and my reaction.

"My son, Rose is a good girl. Please marry her. She'll make a good wife to you."

Rose was upset, turned around, and was walking away with a flaming red head. My grand mom called her, "My daughter, please stop." But my grand mom's voice was faint. Rose immediately stopped. My grand mom gasped for air. It was as though she couldn't breath properly.

"Grand mom, what's the problem?"

Rose ran back, and knelt on the ground, as she checked my grand mom's pulse. "But her blood pressure and overall health was fine this morning." Rose said to me.

"What's the problem mama?"

"My daughter, it's not a medical problem I'm having. My spirit is tired. I'm ready to go. I've seen my grand son Randy one last time."

My grand mom with her last breath said to me, "Marry her Randy." And she gave up the ghost. Rose cried, "Mama, mama. Please wake up." Shaking my grand mom's body, but there was no response. I comforted Rose as tears poured like tape water from her eyes. I could tell that Rose loved my grand mom deeply.

I made the necessary arrangements for my grand mom's body to be taken to a mortuary not far from the house. I called my siblings to break the news to them. Then I locked the doors and windows of the house, and drove devastated Rose home. She lived not so far away from my family home.

I said nothing on the way concerning all my grand mom had said regarding marrying her. Rose was also quiet. Rose pointed to her house, I parked by the road side, and she came down. Her face was still very gloomy.

"Drive safely back to the city Randy." And I nodded.

It's been three days now, since I came back to the city, and all I've been thinking about are my grand mom's words. And how tender Rose looked when she was crying. I could still feel her soft palm rubbing against mine, when my grand mom joined us. "I've never seen a tender girl like that in my life." I whispered to myself.

I felt weird thinking about Rose constantly. So I decided to call different of my girlfriends to have some fun, perhaps it would take my mind off Rose. But there was no escape from my thoughts of Rose. I've even had to slap myself several times - to snap out of this feelings, because it seemed to me like I've fallen in love with a girl I've only met once. "No way. I'm too cold for such feelings. I beat my chest."

A week past, and I couldn't shake off my feelings for Rose. I decided that I have to go see Rose. I drove from the city straight to her house. It was an eight hours road trip. But seeing Rose in front of her house, tending to the garden, drove shivers down spine. It finally struck me. "I'm in love with this girl."

Then I parked. Rose looked at my car, and wondered if it was me. I came out, and walked to her. I could see that she was surprised and somewhat excited to see me, because she had a faint smile on her face.

"Hello Randy. To what do I owe this visit?"

"Hi Rose. How have you been?"

"I've been managing myself, considering all that happened."

"Okay. Emmm, I've been thinking about you, since I travelled back to the city. And about what my late grand mom said. Emmm..."

"What is it Randy?"

"Will you marry me Rose?"

Rose's face went red instantly, as she blinked faster. Then she turned her face to the ground, and said, "No."

I was shocked, because that wasn't the answer I was expecting. My late grand mom gave me the impression that Rose liked me, because she was always staring at my pictures. I was speechless, and confused.

But I knew that I've fallen in love with Rose. "How would I convince her to marry me?" I contemplated. In my silence and confusion, as I stood in front of her helplessly.

Rose raised her head up, with a smile. "Yes, I'll marry you Randy."

"Wow!" I quickly hugged her.

And we both looked into each other's eyes. I could tell that Rose was deeply in love with me, as I was in love with her.

Then Rose said with a funny face, "I'm only marrying you, because mama said so." And we both burst into laughter. And I kissed her.

Sort:  

Congratulations @devotedman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 200 replies.
Your next target is to reach 300 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Awwwwwww! Is the ending part for me? So so sweet. I enjoyed reading this earnestly, from Randy being a stubborn fellow with different girlfriends to Randy falling in love with Rose☺️ I hope he was able to cut off with all his girlfriends after meeting Rose?

Randy would probably cut off his many girlfriends. Love has a way of changing even the most stubborn fellows. I'm glad you enjoyed the ending part and the read. Thanks for your kind words.

This story takes an emotional turn when Randy's grandmom's health deteriorates, and she expresses her wish for him to marry Rose, the nurse who cares for her. This story beautifully portrays the complexities of human emotions, the bonds of family, and the power of love. Above all, it's interesting to read.

Most grand moms have that desire for their grand kids to get married to good people, who really love and care about them. And indeed, Rose loved Randy's grand mom deeply. I'm glad you found the read interesting. Thanks for dropping by!