Cut the cord

in The Ink Well2 years ago

Source

It was the time of Covid mayhem, and we were as close to an apocalypse as our generation has ever been. Perhaps it was the numbing loneliness that gaped at me like a black hole waiting to swallow me up or maybe it was just a lesser-known side effect of covid. I reached out my parents.

My parents and I did not have the greatest relationship. I was the scapegrace daughter who got into trouble at school, had problems with studies and had no skill to recommend her. I was the dark shadow that loomed behind my elder sister. She was the golden child - a straight A student who did not even know where the detention room was. With burnished gold ringlets, clear green eyes, it was difficult to fathom how she could be biologically related to me. With my dark heavy brows and crazy curly hair, I made a terrible first impression. After comparing me with my sister, it got worse.

I was happy to move out at the age of 18 which was five years ago. Although there has been minimal contact with my family, I still know everything that's been going on with them through the magical evil of social media.

My sister went to medical school. Like many med students, she was stressed so she had her coping mechanism. Which apparently involved flings with multiple men. She should have done her internship in gynecology to prevent what happened next. My niece was born three years ago and at the ripe old age of sixty, my parents have been saddled with a kid.

My sister is continuing her studies like it was a minor bump. Whereas my parents are doing all the newborn stuff again.

So, long story made longer with my rambling, I felt sorry for them and contacted them. I even travelled across two states in my car to go back home.

My childhood home looked the same from outside. It's plain white facade melding into its surroundings. But as soon as I stepped inside, I realized that things were different. The first being that the floor was hidden by mounds of Legos, teethers, clothes and formula lying around like a crime den.

My mother rushed towards me and hugged me for the first time in 23 years of my life. My father smiled tremulously and said, "My dear child!"

It was very surreal. Mom had made my favorite casserole and dad was interested in my work as a makeup artist.

It was ideal like a hallmark card. The moment was broken by a shriek as a child launched herself into the room and began pulling my mother's hair.

"Gimme car. Gimme ishceem. Gimmmmme."

"No, please Sarah, say hello to your aunt, ah it hurts."

3 hours later Sarah had used up her energy and gone to sleep. The adults enjoyed the silence for a while.

"Why are you doing this? Why isn't Katie taking care of her child?"

"Well, you know she has studies."

"You can't manage children at your age. Does she even see her kid?"

"Yes, she takes Sarah on weekends. In fact, she's coming tomorrow."

I made up my mind to do something that I'd never imagined.

"Come with me. When Katie comes back on Monday, let her find a closed door. Let's try and be a normal family."

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

!PGM 🤘

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 15 SBT tokens to @operahoser, @diebitch

remaining commands 5

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-2.5 BUDS-0.01 MOTA-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @diebitch.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Your story provides a window into a dysfunctional family, and yet one most of us can probably related to. The privileged child takes everything for granted and ultimately takes advantage of the people in her life, while the one who has been sidelined somehow gets up on her own two feet and turns into the responsible adult. Well done, @diebitch.

Thank you for sharing your story in The Ink Well and for reading and commenting on the work of other writers in the community!

I love this story, @diebitch. As always, you create interesting characters and scenarios. But I will admit that I don't quite understand the end. Is she saying that she wants to lock Katie out of the house?

Congratulations @diebitch! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@diebitch, you left me feeling so sorry for her as she was being ignored and also wondering how Katie will react to the news.
I hope the author finally gets along with her parents.

Amazing story with well developed characters. Although the ending is confusing but I seems like it's a reconciliation.