WHAT DOES HAPPINESS MEAN TO YOU?

in The Ink Well2 years ago (edited)

A wealthy man wanted to know what happiness is to other people in different levels.

His own definition of happiness as a rich man is when more money enters your account and when you are able to afford everything you and family so desires because as the saying goes "money makes the world go round".

pexels-photo-4386442.jpeg
Source

For many years he stood by this believe but as he grew older and got richer, that believe seemed to be nothing more than a stereotype to him.

He decided to go around his city and ask people what happiness is to them so as to confirm if his belief was true or false.

He disguised himself as by wearing what people believed was average clothes and shoes, he feigned himself as a news reporter who was working on a documentary.

pexels-photo-3692625.jpeg
Source

He went around his city and interviewed people, the first person he interviewed was a rich looking man who was in his very expensive car

The wealthy man: Good day sir, I'm a news reporter working on a documentary about happiness, i would like to ask what happiness means to you?

The other rich man: Happiness is when i see a credit alert on my phone whenever i wake up in the morning.

The second person he interviewed was an average looking man who was holding his child by the hand.

The wealthy man: Excuse me sir please i would like to know what happiness means to you?

The average man: Happiness to me is when i see my family happy and when I'm able to provide comfort for them

He then asked the little kid the same question

The little kid: Happiness is erm... is erm... when my daddy and mommy buy chocolates for me and my siblings and when we eat together as a family.

The wealthy man mindset was gradually changing so he decided to interview more people, he saw a woman who looked quite poor.

The wealthy man:Excuse me ma'am what does happiness mean to you?

Happiness to me is when my husband and my children are doing well in life, everyday i thank God that he gave us shelter and that we are able to eat three square meals per day even though it's extremely hard.

The wealthy man was moved to tears but he did not cry, he decided to interview more people and the next person he saw was a homeless man

The wealthy man: Excuse me sir, what does happiness mean to you?

The homeless man: Happiness to me is when I'm able to feed myself three times in a day though it's very rare but at least I'm grateful to God for the gift of life and whenever the rain does not fall i sing praises to God because when there is life, there is hope.

pexels-photo-9533302.jpeg
Source

The next person he interviewed was a street performer

The wealthy man: Excuse me sir, what does happiness mean to you

The street performer: Happiness is when i perform in front of people and they cheer me.

The wealthy man interviewed more people and by the end of the day he came to the conclusion that happiness different to people.

Some believe that money brings true happiness while some don't, some are happy when others are happy, some are happy when they are able to provide comfort for their families while some are happy when they eat three times a day, some are happy when they able to do what they love.

woman-girl-freedom-happy-39853.jpeg
Source

In the end he came to the conclusion that actually, true happiness comes from within oneself.


THE END


Sort:  

To me

Happiness is when you are able to eat and have a place to call home. No matter how your home is whether poor, rich or average, family is everything.

Happiness means different things to different people, and yes for some it’s only the availability of a meal that counts.😊❤️🤔

It's a very good story. Happiness indeed is subjective.

It is a truth the rich man discovers. Happiness may be hard to find when circumstances are hard, but it is impossible to find if you do not find it in yourself. The rich man's journey is instructive. Different people have different experiences. When the story ends, he is not only rich, but wise.

Thank you for sharing this story with us, and we appreciate that you engage with other authors.