You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: AIMLESSLY AIMING - Or, how I became a gambler.

Thank you, dear @futuremind.

you never know if you're going to find yourself there ever again.

Oh, that is something! I know this feeling from other places I have been, where I had this very thought "not to know if I will ever find me there again" but right in that very moment.

Then it gains something all too conscious at the moment it happens. In a way, it robs spontaneity. Sometimes I lose this ability to be unthinkingly joyful when I take photos, for example. ... Which is fine, of course, because you approach a thing or an experience differently. More with the eye of a silent observer. Until you throw yourself back into life.

I don't even remember half of it :D

LOL. Yeah, I know that feeling, too. :)

I believe we've talked about the prude nature of societies before, so the fact that you embraced your good time by confronting the gossipers bluntly is great, and speaks volumes for the good character traits you possess. Albeit an embarrassed/confronted gossiper might disagree ;D

We did. In a way, we are all sinners and I know of no one who wasn't or isn't. I have a favorite quote about sins:

In the history of Christianity, around 400 AD, there was a big argument between Augustine and a Celt called Pelagius. Pelagius was a British optimist who believed in muddling through, pitching in and pulling one's weight. He held that one could fulfil God's commandments through one's own will and effort and argued that God would not have given us commandments if we could not obey them.

Augustine, however, was of the opinion that Pelagius had thoroughly misunderstood this. If he had read Paul correctly, especially his letter to the Romans, he would have been able to conclude that God did not give us the commandments so that we might obey them, but rather to show us that we cannot. To paraphrase Paul: God gave us commandments that we cannot keep in order to lay sin upon us. In other words, the commandments were a move, an upaya. It was not really expected that a person could keep a commandment like the one in the Ten Commandments: "You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind." No one can do that.

Source - translated into English from German.

I found this very very revealing.

🤗