You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE ART OF STICKY HANDS

in The Ink Well2 years ago

I would not rule that out. In fact, this often happens with a time lag. I was already a bit older and ran a topic-specific blog, full of conviction that I was doing the right thing, full of drive to actively advance something I believed in.
My blog generated some readers and there was one in particular who confronted me with hard arguments and criticised me on the head for my naivety and know-it-all attitude and the many conjunctives I used. I didn't like him at all and I vehemently disagreed with his arguments. But they stuck and much of what he said to me then or how he challenged me strikes me as very valuable in today's light. A stranger took issue with me on my platform and seemed to have a genuine interest in exposing my errors. Fortunately, the fact that he made me deeply uncomfortable did not make me go so far as to ban him from my comments section. I learned most from my adversaries and less from the confirmers.