The Insatiable Cat

in The Ink Well2 years ago

photo-1611915387288-fd8d2f5f928b.jpeg
Source

It was never in doubt by any of the other animals in the Kingdom that little Mr mouse would someday fall victim to his unlikely friendship he had made with the Kindgom's outcast - Franklin Meerkat.

You see, long ago, Franklin had been banished from the Kingdom due to his excessive desire and uncontrollable insatiability for food. Over and over, the hungry cat would continue to finish the Kindgom's one week food supply in just one day on the basis of him being so so very hungry. At last, the King could no longer tolerate such inadequate shortages in feeding the Kindgom and so, henceforth, the King declared that the hungry cat should be banished from the kindgom forever and sentenced to exile in the forest of outcasts. Unfortunately however, the feline's exile wasn't so much as enough to prevent the encounter between himself and Mr mouse.

On a very particular day, Mr mouse was scavenging for a very rare and beautiful flower for his wife, he had searched high and low the Kingdom but unfortunately, he couldn't find the flower he was looking for. Sad and disspointed, Mr mouse decided to return home empty handed but it wasn't until he met with a mysterious old owl whom directed him to the forest of outcast, that he regained his happiness and enthusiasm to go scavenging for that flower once more.

Once inside the forest, Mr mouse kept looking for this very special flower: the rare and violet blue, berry blossom. But yet again, to his unfortune, he was not able to identify, amongst the many flowers that were there, his very special flower. Now, Mr mouse had completely lost any hope of finding this flower and was going to call it a day but suddenly ... he heard a strange noise coming from deep within the bushes - it was the purring and growling of a cat.

Curious Mr mouse went forth into the bushes in search of the cat that was making all that noise and upon getting to source of the noise, Mr mouse saw the biggest cat his little eyes had ever seen.

Oh dear, what a big cat you are! Tell me, what are you doing here and why are you crying?

Mr mouse asked the hungry cat.

Well you see, I have not eaten for 3 months and I am just so very very hungry.

The big cat replied. This, of course, was a lie because big old Franklin Meerkat had already had a big lunch of berries from one of the forest shrubs earlier that afternoon.The truth was, he just wasn't satisfied enough.

Oh my, that's very sad. You know, I myself I'm very sad too. I was looking for a very special flower for my wife today but there are just so many flowers here and I can't tell which one is which!

Mr mouse said to the cat.

Uh... flower? What flower are you looking for if I may ask?

The cat questioned Mr mouse.

Uhmm.... I believe it is the very rare and violet blue flower. Yes! that's it.

Replied Mr mouse.

Oh! you mean the flower I just saw a couple minutes ago? Yes...I know it. I can take you there at once!

Said the cat enthusiastically.

Haaaa... you would do that for me? Why, thank you so much! It really means a lot to me...

Mr mouse replied with a big old smile feeling that jolt of happiness coming to his being once again just like it did before.

Of course! But, there's just one problem: you see, I am so very hungry right now and I'm afraid I do not have enough strength to take you to the flowers at the moment. Perhaps, if you can get me something to eat then, maybe I can gather enough strength to take you to your flower. How does that sound little mouse?

The cat suggested with a little grin on his face.

Well, I suppose I could help you. But all I have right now is this little cheese I have been saving in my sack. Here, you can have it if you want?...

Mr mouse stretched his Little hand to the cats mouth feeding him the little cheese cube.

Mmmm... that was certainly delicious but I am still very hungry! Oh my... what smells so good? Do you have anything else in your sack Little mouse?

The cat asked the mouse.

In my sack? No, I don't think so. That was the last snack I had with me.

Mr mouse replied.

Oh dear, that's not good. I am still so very hungry!! Goodness me, I am afraid I am just too hungry to take you to the flower now...

The cat spoke in a melodramatic tone.

No, no! Wait a minute! Uhm...If you're still hungry, maybe I can try to get you some food. Just give me a minute..

Mr mouse said as he ran to a pond to try and catch a fish for the cat. It was not at all an easy task but the mouse ended up catching just one fish. Gently, the mouse dragged the fish all the way from the pond to the big Meerkat whom was waiting for him.

Here you go! A nice big Tuna fish for you.

The mouse said to the cat offering him the big fish he had just caught.

Splendid! This looks like it will satisfy my hunger for now.

The cat said as he munched up the entire fish. And later, after he was done eating, Mr mouse asked:

I really do hope you are satisfied now. Are you?

Well, that certainly was a good lunch. Why... yes! Yes I am.

Great! So can we get on with finding my flower then?...

Mr mouse asked eagerly.

Certainly, a deal's a deal. Hop on.

The cat said gesturing to the mouse to climb on his back. And just like that, the two were off on the trail to find the rare flower.

photo-1600759487717-62bbb608106e.jpeg
Source

By this time, Mr mouse had never felt more happy and fulfilled than he had since he started his journey but soon, he will come to know just how insatiable this cat could truly be.

I say, there's that smell again. What is that smell? My goodness, it smells so good!

The cat spoke as he continue to walk the trail.

Smell? I don't smell anything and I also don't have any food with me so I'm not sure entirely sure what it is you must be smelling.

Mr mouse replied.

Hmm... perhaps it is just my nose playing tricks on me.

The cat remarked with an ominous smirk on its face almost as if he had finally realized where the sweet, delicious smelling smell was coming from.

It took about a minute more or two until the both animals arrived at the very special flower. Unfortunately, by the time they had gotten there, all that was left of Little Mr mouse was nothing but his small little hat. Sadly, the Meerkat had already eaten him up before they arrived at the flower garden.

I hope you excel in whatever you do.

Sort:  

Such a sad ending for Mr mouse. He shouldn't have trusted that Meerkat.

Thank you for sharing that story with The Ink Well, we appreciate your engagement in the community by commenting on other writers' stories.