Two Side Of A Coin.

in The Ink Well15 days ago

Chris and I grew up in the same neighbourhood; we were so close that people thought we were brothers. We attended the same school and were in the same class. I was his best friend, and so was he to me.

One thing about both of us is that our characters were more like words and opposites. While I was the indoor, nonchalant, reserved, and introverted person, Chris was the outgoing type; he made lots of friends, and he was everyone's friend. I never disliked this part of him because he was the link to me meeting other people and becoming friends with them.

Image source

Although I love Chris like a brother, there is something he does that sets my teeth on edge. He has no restraint when he comes across beautiful ladies; he always wants to start a conversation with them. I know this about him, and it’s one of his biggest flaws.

One good afternoon, Chris and I were to meet at the mall to have a good time because we had been working all month. “Hello, Chris Where are you? I have gotten here five minutes ago, and you’re yet to show up.” That was me calling Chris on his mobile because he told me he was at the mall already and I couldn’t find him. “Relax, I’m outside; I’m just trying to get something done here; I’ll join you soon,” Chris said over the phone.

The movie we were supposed to watch was going to start in 20 minutes, and I couldn’t find my friend. So I decided to step out to look for him since he said he was outside the mall. I stepped outside the mall, and there were a lot of people coming in and going out of the mall. I started walking towards the park while looking far and near to see if I would see Chris. My thoughts was, “If he gets into the mall and doesn’t find me, he will call me.”

I walked some distance, and I saw a guy and a lady at a far distance talking and laughing. It was looking like Chris, but I thought, “Nah, that can’t be him. He wouldn’t do that while I’m waiting for him,” but after carefully looking at the figure of his head, I realised it was my friend Chris. I walked angrily to where he was and said, “Is this what you’re doing? I have been waiting for you for more than 10 minutes.”

He was shocked to see me, but there was nothing he could do. He apologized, then introduced the lady to me: “This is Sandra. Sandra, meet my friend Fash.”

“Nice to me, you. Can we go now?” I said that because the movie was about to start. As we were about to leave, Chris said, “Uhmmm, Sandra, would you like to watch the movie with us in the cinema?”

I became angry immediately, but I did not show it; she said yes, and this set my teeth on edge. How can you go to the cinema with a stranger? Well, we all went together, and we had a good time. I did not talk to Chris until we got home. I gave him a good tongue-lashing, but even with that, he never changed. I still love him and will always love him.

Thanks for reading

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I liked your story @fashioluwa. You were very honest in expressing what you felt at the time. It can happen that we become jealous of friends and don't want to share with other people. But we have to be tolerant and enjoy the moment.
Regards

Yeah
I believe you’re right. I just wanted my friend to myself and no third party but it didn’t work out
Thanks for stopping by my post
!BBH

@popurri! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (5/5)

Ohh yeah I get everything here, you could have just gotten yours no need of being jealous 😂😂 Love is a beautiful thing.
Las Las they will still breakup and your friendship continues 😂😂

Hehehe
I don’t want to share my friend at that time so I don’t want no third party. 😂😂
!BBH

@quan45! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (1/5)

You are angry that chris found his love and you didn’t?😂😂😂
Oh come on man, you can do better

😂😂😂that’s not it
He was delaying me and the girl just accepted to follow us like that without knowing who I was

😂😂😂😂I won’t believe you

😅😅
And you know me well o

Real issue ooo😂😂

🤣🤣

o.o then u should get him a girlfriend lol so his gf can lash out at him :)

He got one already. This happened years ago and the girl he has now is the nonchalant type. She takes no nonsense. Now he is a little more reserved

oh o.o maybe i missed the part u said a few years ago lol. so it doesnt happen anymore?

Nope. Man is a bit calm now

O.O i see a gf changes things dont it

Lol... you guys are weird. Hehe, so Chris likes girls too much, and you??? I know how they flock all around you. Don't tell me you've lost your charm 😂.

Bali
I have lost interest in talking
They might come close to me while I run away. My eyes have been open🥲🥲

🤣🤣🤣 your eyes have??? Come on Tee😂😂. You Don wise up. Well done ooo

Some people are wired that way, easily meeting acquaintances and he knew he could always reason out with you. And thus, he wouldn't want to miss a chance

Thank you
This would have been the best way to handle it but no, he wanted to do it his way

🥺🥺🥺🥺🥺love is indeed a beautiful thing

Friends who are the opposites can be both fun and frustrating! Thanks for sharing your creative nonfiction in The Ink Well, and for reading and commenting on the work of other community members. Remember that we love character development, dialogue and action. There are many ways to further develop stories, to give your readers more insights on the characters (even real life ones!) that you write about, and give us a more full and complete story.

Ok, I’ll do that
Thanks for reading too
More love ❤️ to you
!BBH

@theinkwell! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (1/5)

No chills ooo😂😂😂

You would've left him then gone to watch the film by yourself 😂😂

No😗😗
We came together
So we should do it together

He must have really liked her! I'm surprised that she accepted the date with you along, though!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

I was surprise she agreed too🥲🥲

Thanks for the upvote 🫶🏽

I can’t laugh because I also have a friend of this nature. The funniest part about him is that most times he does that with passion. Then at the end of the day when I ask him about his gain from the ladies he have been spending time with. He will say he is about to delete their numbers 😂

😂😂😂
Don’t worry brother, I can relate so well with what you’re saying

A friendship where friends are a direct opposite of each other hardly works.

Ours is working so well😅