The hospital/ by @gilliatt

in The Ink Well3 years ago (edited)

former-psychiatric-hospital-1982231_960_720.jpg
Source

The hospital

This is the story of Uncle Jhon, that uncle who is in the family on loan, as if he were a kind of Adopted uncle, someone who looks different from head to toe, but who is known not to belong to the family That God knows where it came from, but deep down everyone knows that he is doing something to destroy humanity. This story talks about him among other characters.

It was the year 1940, and although it seems a contradiction, in that old university hospital, everything had that unmistakable smell of new, the beds, the chairs, the uniforms, the nurses, well I would dare to say that even the deceased in the morgue they smelled new.

It was in those days that the rumor reached my ears that things began to disappear in that hospital, especially the surgical cutting instruments, and nobody knew why. It was known that for its inauguration after the war, the commander of the army, a former military doctor, had been in charge of filling an entire floor with a supply of medicines, blankets, and pillows for about ten years, and of that nothing has been lost, perhaps out of fear of the general.

"From next week, no implement will come out, without it being noted in the daily book" exclaimed the director in charge, (The main one had disappeared, it was Uncle Jhón). That by the way days before that beautiful nurse also disappeared, who had come from that rural dispensary, to specialize and that just like that, the earth, or rather, the Hospital swallowed her up.

The elders of this town aspiring to the city tell that after the rebellion of 1840, all the rebels of that failed uprising were buried in that land, some with their entire family included and that on that common grave, they built that hospital, all coldly calculated; the dead were already dead and no one was going to tear down that wonder, to remove some old bones.

In those days I had to face some health problems and I ended up in that hospital, I stayed there for almost a month, until I fled from that place, haunted by some voices and noises that were heard at night, and that the nurses they claimed: "it was the wind".

As the days went by, I collapsed in the town square and woke up again in that hospital, unfortunately it was late at night, and it was impossible to get out of there until morning. So I resigned myself, and I got ready to listen carefully to that "wind" that I had heard the last time.

It was not long when strange noises began to be heard, I immediately asked that old nurse if what was heard in the distance was the wind, "Yes, son, it always sounds like that," she told me with a nervous look. I answered ironically: "I did not know that the wind wore heels".

And it is that night footsteps were heard through that hospital, followed by screams, and some creepy laughter, which at the moment of greatest intensity, made me get up from the stretcher saying that I would rather die in my bed than in that hospital in hell, But just as I was getting ready to go out, a black nurse at night, who said she was my grandmother's cousin (I believed her, because she looked a lot like my grandmother), stopped me on the spot saying: "Son, if You leave at this time, you will surely die ", he immediately sent himself to the edge of the bed telling me, among other things, that hospital kept a terrible secret and that I had been sent there to solve it.

That morning I escaped from the hospital without waiting for the doctor to be discharged, after spending the most terrifying night in that hospital room, holding the hand of that old woman who prayed in a language that I did not know, and that seemed more like some rituals for counteract those diabolical forces.

Suddenly I remembered the words that old woman had said to me, just before dawn:"The secret is in the numbers, you have to count".

At first I did not give it importance, I thought that old woman was as screwed up as I was, and that she was already beginning to rave, so I left.

I went to my house and just before that old hospital disappeared behind the treetops, I remembered the words of the old woman: "The secret is in telling", so without realizing it I began to count the hospital windows, and I realized that it had a kind of unevenness and that counting the windows, it could be concluded that old building was not exactly the same, and that it had an unexplored wing, so I scheduled how to find out.


Source

Despite not being well, since a few days ago I had felt quite ill, and that just in my forties, I had never felt any similar breakdown, I passed on the way to Inspector Lúthiers's house, to, among other things, show the detail of the north wing of that old hospital, to see what he could tell me.

He received me very kindly, we spoke in a very cordial way, I spoke to him about the hospital, and he was evasive, then I asked him if he had anticipated something about my uncle's disappearance, he told me about a rumor about an affair with that nurse and that surely they were already in some tropical country, on the new continent, "that old man was half crazy, he knew that by taking over the reins of that hospital, he would go completely crazy", I thought to myself that with that nurse's tits, anyone would have gone crazy easily.

I got home feeling a lot better, so I invited my old friend Fernando to play chess and have tea, I felt so good that I won two games, to which he suddenly disappeared, I went to sleep for a while, the night it had been very long.

I didn't wake up until the next day, again in that old hospital, tied with belts on both arms and legs. The nurse told me that she brought me in a very bad condition, and that the doctor ordered that they secure me to bed until he could examine me calmly.

I waited patiently for two hours and when I was already yelling at the nurses, the doctor arrived. I was just waiting for that moment to spit in his face all the insults I knew, and all the anger that had accumulated during those two hours, but when I faced him, I could not tell him absolutely anything, not a single word, he was my uncle. I only saw him approach me, he gave me an injection, and voíla, the darkness.

Suddenly everything had changed, that hospital room was completely in ruins, the walls were shattered and I could see that monument of a woman who accompanied the uncle in those spaces of the north wing that no one had noticed, it was the nurse.

leave-3364975_960_720.jpg
Source

I woke up again at dawn, to be shaken by the nurse, my grandmother's cousin, who suddenly appeared saying: "You have to get out of here, someone has to tell what is happening in this damn hospital", while she let me go He said that insane couple had begun to experiment with human bodies, cutting them into pieces, performing rituals to awaken the souls of those who died on the grounds of that old construction.

I left as fast as I could, trying not to be seen by anyone, only when I reached the corridor that connects with the hospital wing, I stopped to orient myself and I saw her, she was a kind of entity, a spirit of a very young woman who pointed at me a small door, which led to some basement stairs, which I preferred not to go down, I would have preferred to return to the stretcher and tie myself, and for my uncle to use my body with pleasure, before going down those stairs, which surely led to the enclosure where they buried all those people or worse, to hell itself.

hospital-4468197_960_720.jpg
Source

I went out through a window and went into the forest, until I got back on the road to my house, arrived at night, so I ate and went to sleep, hoping not to appear again in that damn hospital, it was not So.

But this time they secured me to a straitjacket, while I watched as all those spirits surrounded me who were already openly telling me that my uncle had locked them all away and that from the basement that I could free all those souls trapped there, and that they would exact their revenge against the general and his instrument: my uncle.

It was then that nurse approached me, giving me an injection, there I could see how at that moment the nurse great-aunt, my friend Fernando and all those spirits were disappearing one by one, while the old room was transformed and returned to its state original.

I could also observe my mother walking away down the hall with Uncle Jhon and that sinister nurse, while he said condescendingly to my mother: "Sister, don't lose hope, this new treatment has been very effective with this type of disorder".

The end

Polish_20201102_024254739.jpg

I must thank the unconditional support I have received from @blocktrades, @ocdb, @cervantes through @sancho.panza and @fridakahlo, @goya, @literatos, and of course from the community #theinkwell, that drives me to be better every day.

_20201126_012145.JPG

former-psychiatric-hospital-1982231_960_720.jpg
Source

El hospital

Esta es la historia del tío Jhon, ese tío que esta en la familia como prestado, como si fuera una especie de tío Adoptado, alguien que desde los pies a la cabeza se le nota distinto, pero que se sabe no pertenece a la familia, que sabrá Dios de donde salió, pero que muy en el fondo todos saben que esta haciendo algo para destruir a la humanidad. Esta historia habla de él, entre otros personajes.

Era el año de 1940, y aunque parezca una contradicción, en aquel viejo hospital universitario, todo tenia ese inconfundible olor a nuevo, las camas, las sillas, los uniformes, las enfermeras, bueno me atrevería a decir que hasta los difuntos en la morgue olían a nuevo.

Fue en esos días que llegó a mis oídos el rumor de que habían empezado a desaparecer las cosas en aquel hospital, especialmente los implemento de corte quirúrgico, y nadie sé explicaba por qué. Se sabe que para su inauguración después de la guerra, el comandante del ejercito, viejo médico militar, se había encargado de llenar un piso completo con una provisión de medicamentos, cobijas, fundas y almohadas como para diez años, y de eso no se había perdido nada, tal vez por miedo al general.

"Desde la próxima semana, no saldrá ningún implemento, sin que sea anotado en el libro diario" exclamo el director encargado, (El principal había desaparecido, era el tío Jhon). Que por cierto días antes también desapareció aquella enfermera hermosisima, que había venido de aquel dispensario rural, a especializarse y que así sin mas se la tragó la tierra, o mejor dicho, el Hospital.

Cuentan los ancianos de este pueblo aspirante a ciudad, que después de la rebelión de 1840, en ese terreno fueron enterrados todos los rebeldes de aquel alzamiento fallido, algunos con toda su familia incluida y que sobre aquella fosa común, fue que construyeron aquel hospital, todo fríamente calculado; los muertos ya estaban muertos y nadie iba a derrumbar aquella maravilla, para sacar unos huesos viejos.

Por aquellos días me tocó enfrentar algunos problemas de salud y fui a parar a ese hospital, permanecí ahí por casi un mes, hasta que salí huyendo de aquel lugar, perseguido por algunas voces y ruidos que se escuchaban por las noches, y que las enfermeras aseguraban: "era el viento".

Al paso de los días, me desplomé en la plaza del pueblo y desperté nuevamente en aquel hospital, por desgracia era muy adentrada la noche, y era imposible salir de allí hasta la mañana. Así que me resigné, y me dispuse a escuchar con atención aquel "viento" que había escuchado la ultima vez.

No pasó mucho tiempo cuando se empezaron a escuchar ruidos extraños, yo inmediatamente le pregunté a aquella vieja enfermera si eso que se escuchaba a lo lejos era el viento, "Si hijo, siempre suena así", me dijo con una mirada nerviosa, a lo que yo respondí de manera irónica: "No sabia que el viento usaba tacones".

Y es que aquella noche se escucharon pasos por aquel hospital, seguido de gritos, y algunas risas espeluznantes, que en el momento de mayor intensidad, me hicieron levantar de la camilla diciendo que preferiría morir en mi cama, que en aquel hospital del infierno, pero en el momento en el que me disponía a salir, una enfermera negra como la noche, que dijo ser prima de mi abuela, (le creí, porque se parecía bastante a ella), me detuvo en el acto diciéndome: "hijo, si sales a esta hora, seguro morirás", acto seguido se sentó al borde de la cama diciéndome entre otras cosas, que ese hospital guardaba un terrible secreto y que yo había sido enviado allí para resolverlo.

Esa mañana me escapé del hospital sin esperar el alta del médico, después de pasar la noche mas aterradora en aquella sala de hospital, tomado de la mano de aquella viejita que rezaba en un idioma que yo desconocía, y que parecían mas bien algunos rituales para contrarrestar aquellas fuerzas diabólicas.

De pronto recordé las palabras que me había dicho aquella anciana, justo antes de que amaneciera: "El secreto esta en los números, hay que contar".

En principio no le di importancia, pensé que esa vieja estaba tan jodída como yo, y que ya empezaba a desvariar, así que me fuí.

Salí rumbo a mi casa y justo antes de que aquel viejo hospital desapareciera tras las copas de los arboles, recordé las palabras de la anciana: "El secreto esta en contar", así que sin darme cuenta comencé a contar las ventanas del hospital, y caí en cuenta que tenia una especie de desnivel y que contando los ventanales, se podía concluir que aquel viejo edificio, no era exactamente igual, y que tenia un ala sin explorar, así que agendé la forma de averiguarlo.


Source

A pesar de no estar bien, ya que hacia unos días me había sentido bastante indispuesto, y que apenas a mis cuarenta años, nunca había sentido ningún quebranto similar, pasé de camino a casa del inspector Lúthiers para, entre otras cosas, hacerle ver el detalle del ala norte de aquel viejo hospital, a ver que podía decirme.

Me recibió muy amablemente, hablamos de manera muy cordial, le hable del hospital, y me salió con evasivas, luego le pregunte si había adelantado algo de la desaparición de mi tío, me habló de un rumor sobre un amorío con aquella enfermera y que seguramente ya estaban en algún país tropical, del nuevo continente, "ese viejo estaba medio chiflado, sabia que al tomar las riendas de ese hospital, enloquecería por completo", yo pensé para mis adentros, que con las tetas de aquella enfermera, cualquiera hubiera enloquecido facílmente.

Llegué a casa sintiéndome bastante mejor, así que invite a mi viejo amigo Fernando a jugar al ajedrez y tomar el té, me sentí tan bien que gané dos partidas, a lo cual este desapareció de pronto, me fui a dormir un rato, la noche había sido muy larga.

No desperté hasta el día siguiente, nuevamente en aquel viejo hospital, atado con cinturones en ambos brazos y piernas. Me contaba la enfermera que me habían traído en muy mal estado, y que el medico ordenó que me aseguraran a la cama hasta que el pudiera examinarme con calma.

Esperé pacientemente por dos horas y cuando ya empezaba a gritarle a las enfermeras, llegó el doctor. Yo solo estaba esperando ese momento para escupirle a la cara todos los insultos que conocía, y toda la rabia que había acumulado durante aquellas dos horas, pero cuando lo encaré, no pude decirle absolutamente nada, ni una sola palabra, era mi tío. Solo lo vi acercarse a mi, me puso una inyección, y voíla, la oscuridad.

De pronto todo había cambiado, aquella habitación del hospital se hallaba completamente en ruinas, las paredes estaban destrozadas y Pude ver aquel monumento de mujer que acompañaba al tío en esos espacios del ala norte que nadie había notado, era la enfermera.

leave-3364975_960_720.jpg
Source

Desperté nuevamente en la madrugada, al ser sacudido por la enfermera, prima de mi abuela, que apareció de pronto diciendo: "tienes que salir de aquí, alguien tiene que contar lo que esta ocurriendo en este maldito hospital", mientras esta me soltaba me contó que aquella pareja de dementes había comenzado a experimentar con cuerpos humanos, cortándolos en pedazos, haciendo rituales para despertar a las almas de los que murieron en los predios de aquella vieja construcción.

Salí tan rápido como pude, tratando de que nadie me viera, solo al llegar al pasillo que conecta con el ala del hospital, me detuve para orientarme y la vi, era una especie de entidad, un espíritu de una mujer muy joven que me señalaba una pequeña puerta, que daba a unas escaleras de un sótano, que preferí no bajar, hubiera preferido volver a la camilla y atarme yo mismo, y que mi tío se sirviera de mi cuerpo con gusto, antes de bajar esas escaleras, que seguramente conducían al recinto donde sepultaron a toda aquella gente o peor aun, al mismo infierno.

hospital-4468197_960_720.jpg
Source

Salí por una ventana y me adentré en el bosque, hasta que retome el camino hasta mi casa, llegué ya en la noche, así que comí y me fui a dormir, con la esperanza de no volver a aparecer en aquel maldito hospital, no fue así.

Pero esta vez me aseguraron a una camisa de fuerza, mientras yo veía como me rodeaban todos esos espíritus que me decían ya abiertamente que mi tío los había encerrado a todos y que desde el sótano aquel, yo podría liberar a todas esas almas atrapadas allí, y que estas mismas almas cobrarían su venganza contra el general y su instrumento: mi tío Jhon.

Fue entonces cuando aquella enfermera se me acercó, poniéndome una inyección, allí pude ver como en ese instante la tía abuela enfermera, mi amigo Fernando y todos aquellos espíritus iban desapareciendo uno a uno, mientras el viejo salón se transformaba y volvía a retomar su estado original.

También pude observar a mi madre alejarse por el pasillo con el tío Jhon y aquella enfermera siniestra, mientras este le decía de manera condescendiente a mi madre: "hermana, no pierdas las esperanzas, este nuevo tratamiento ha sido muy eficaz con este tipo de trastornos".

Fin

Polish_20201102_024254739.jpg

Debo agradecer el apoyo incondicional que he recibido de @blocktrades, @ocdb, @cervantes a través de @sancho.panza y @fridakahlo, @goya, y por supuesto a la comunidad #theinkwell, Que me impulsan a ser cada día mejor.

_20201126_012145.JPG

Sort:  

Excelente, como siempre es un gusto leerte 💖!

Gracias hija, sabes que eres mi fan número uno y medio!

Agradecido con el proyecto #cervantes que esta muy pendiente de mi trabajo, siempre apoyando incondicionalmente, a los creadores, éxitos!