The Traumatizing Call.

in The Ink Well7 months ago (edited)

IMG_20231008_220927.jpg

Have you heard from him? I asked my mom who was on the other end of the call.

"No! Maybe his phone has issues, don't worry he will call, she replied.

My younger brother Emma, left for Lagos a month ago, and I have always been in touch with him. He calls me sometimes with his friend's number who he stays with. He called me last week complaining about his health. I sent him some money to go treat himself. Two days after I had sent him the money, his friend called me.

I answered the call, Hello! Hello! No response, the call ended.

I continued washing my clothes. I had planned on going out later that day to get groceries. My phone rang again with the same person, I picked up and answered, Hello! Hello! Yet no response.

I had a feeling that something wasn't right, so I called my brother but it didn't go through. I tried several times but it didn't go through. I didn't want to make a conclusion. I called his friend twice but he did not pick up, both numbers weren't reachable. I was already thinking negatively so I tried to keep calm but then again, could it be… no! Ann keep calm, don't say that, I encouraged myself.

The next day, my phone rang. It was my brother's friend. I hurriedly picked up as I had been waiting for this call.

"Hello! I answered.

"Hello! ma, I have been trying to reach you, have you heard from Emma?

No! I have been trying to reach both you and Emma, what happened? Why haven't you been picking up?

Ma, Emma was taken by the community youths, he was accused of stealing and they said if he doesn't provide the sum of #70,000 he would be burnt.

What? I don't understand what you mean? What did he steal? I replied .

Ma, they said it's a phone, he replied.

I screamed,"Oh my God! What is this?"

My heart sank deep into my stomach, my skin was covered in goosebumps and sweat, I could practically hear my heart beat. My thoughts couldn't get hold of itself.

Okay! Okay! Can I speak with whoever is in charge? I asked in a trembled voice.

"I will send you his number ma", he replied.

Okay, please hurry up.

I couldn't think straight, I paced around as though I was in labour, I checked my account but it was only #20,000 I had left I need #50,000 more. Who will I run to? I didn't want my mum to know about it, she might not have the stomach to digest this bad news. What should I do?

I called some of my friends but it was no good as I couldn't come up with a better lie of what I needed the money for and I couldn't unveil such evil to them, family's reputation was at stake.

Just as I was still battling with confusion a message dropped on my phone. I checked, mtcheww…stupid MTN! I was thinking it was the number.

Few hours afterwards, he sent me the number. I called the number but it wasn't reachable but I kept trying it. Finally it went through.

Hello! Good evening, who is this? A thick hoarse voice spoke.

Hello! Go— Good evening sir, I am Emma's Elder sister.

So you are the sister to the thief? Ehen! Your brother stole somebody's phone and the person is requesting for #70,000 you people should send it or else we will burn him alive, he spoke so harshly.

Please! Please sir, don't kill my brother. Can I speak with him? I will send the money, please let me just speak with him, I pleaded.

I wasn't thinking right. I love my brother so much that I didn't stop for a minute to think everything through. They let me speak to him for just 2 seconds and the voice sounded like my brother's voice. I threw myself on the floor and cried with a loud voice. I called upon the God of Israel, God of Jacob, God of Isaac, God of Daniel, God of Hannah, God of Sarah, God of David.

I tried calling my brother again just maybe a miracle will happen but he still wasn't reachable. I quickly called my elder brother Mark but he didn't have much as he has been trying to get a job but to no avail although he sent me #3000, I didn't really tell him what the money was for he has been through a lot lately.

My thoughts took me down to Sunny, a businessman who once asked me out although I rejected his advance. I know he has the money, so I ran to him for help. I went to his shop but he said he was at home. I left for his house and he was surprised to see me. He welcomed me into his home, but couldn't wait to know why I came.

Have you accepted? He asked me, with his eyebrows raised.

Erm…I—I have a big problem. I knelt down, in tears I begged him to help me save my brother's life.

I will give you the money but you will have to pay? He replied as he relaxed his back into his black leather one seater couch.

Okay, I promise I will pay back, I replied.

But not with cash o…shey you understand? He held his ears.

I don't understand, what do you mean? I muttered.

"Let me bring the money first", he stood up and walked into another room.

My heart was beating, I was beginning to rethink what he said. I couldn't control my tears, I tried to call my brother again to my surprise it went through but he didn't pick. I continued trying.

Soon Sunny came out counting the money and then he gave it to me and then he said, "save your brother then come back and I will tell you how you will pay". As I was about collecting the money my phone rang, lo and behold it was my brother. I picked it up.

Hello! Hello!! Emma, is that you? I asked.

Hello! Sis, is me. My phone has issues that was why I couldn't call you since, he replied.

His voice was calm, he didn't sound troubled. So, I asked him about the phone he stole.

Which phone? He replied.

I explained everything to him but he disclosed that he is actually on his way back to Jos. He left yesterday and he didn't steal anything.

Wow! Are you sure? I asked him.

He said he was 100% sure.

Thank Goodness! I told him I will call him back let me get back home.

Sunny was just staring at me, I told him I didn't need the money anymore. My brother is safe. He looked disappointed, all his plans was shattered before it even began, so I walked out of his house. I was very happy, I alone knew the length of emotional trauma I went through even if I told the story many might not understand the gravity of what had happened.

Later that same day Emma arrived in one piece, I was happy to see him. I called mom to inform her that he had already arrived in Jos. She was very happy to hear that he was okay, and of course she guessed right 'his phone has issues.

After talking with Emma, It turned out that Emma's friend was trying to dupe me of #70,000, I had to block his number and every other person that was involved, although I initially threatened to lock him up for fraud but I forgive him.

Image is mine

Thank you for stopping by 🌸

Sort:  

I can imagine all the trauma and despair you went through. Thank goodness that call happened. You were saved from being swindled and from falling into the hands of that ruffian who only wanted you to pay him with your body, for sure. Regards

Yeah! thank God, Sunny was about to play the bad boy's Games and my brother's friend are trying to dupe me 🤦

Congratulations @ginika! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners

Thank you.

You're making a big difference @ginika! Your daily posts on Hive are inspiring and impactful. Keep up the fantastic work!

Thank you!

Unscrupulous people can have the power to change other people's lives. We can go to unbelievable lengths to save the lives of our loved ones. It is a great fortune that your sister called in time. Thank you so much for this story and for your comments on other stories.

Thank you so much for the feedback.

But it wasn't my sister who called on time, it was my brother.

Emma is coined out from Emmanuel, instead of calling him Emmanuel we shortened it to Emma.

This is very deep, I can imagine all the stress and emotional trauma you must have went through in few days.
And that Sunny of a man, it’s advisable to avoid people like that. They don’t have any milk of human kindness.

Yeah! You are right. I have blacklisted him.

I seriously can imagine all the trauma you passed through. Some people are not worth having as friends, how can Emma's friend think of duping you? Thank God your brother called at the right time. To even think of that Sunny who was trying to take advantage of you in the whole situation, some men enn!

Unbelievable! Another format of scam and the friend had the mind to do this to your brother. Thank goodness you didn't inform your mother but handled the situation maturely.

Yeah! I didn't want her to pass through a more severe trauma.