You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blessing, mommy. Good afternoon, teacher

Hello my dear @itsostylish ! You made me check if I was afraid of my mother in her role as a teacher. I definitely wasn't. I was fascinated. I was four years old and I looked forward to accessing the contents of the books that mom cared for with total zeal. She instilled in me a love of reading and a commitment to comprehension, in her combination of tender motherly love and demanding teacher. No teacher could have done it better.
I did not apply the same technique with my children. No. But in a mysterious way my children learned to read very naturally. We had children's books everywhere, among the toys, scattered all over the place. The children learned with those books to recognize whole words and put together the beautiful stories of very few words that those books brought. They learned to read by playing...and asking questions.