Una compañía inesperada | An unexpected company

in The Ink Well3 years ago

halloween-4537430_1920.jpg

Imagen Pixabay

After a long time I always wanted to go back to the place where I grew up, it's a very beautiful place, but going back was always difficult because when you do that a lot of memories come back that makes you feel that something inside you crumbles. But seeing that you had a good education and a calm life, you know that the family you have created deserves it.

When I was 10 years old my parents passed away and I had to move with my aunt and uncle to the city, and although I was happy there I always wanted to work until I returned to my HOME.

After a lot of work I felt it was the right time, my wife and my two children moved to my childhood home. A nice place in the countryside, quiet, and somewhat secluded, but it was necessary to escape from the fatigue of the city, it was time to find some peace.

We already had 4 years there, and I could always observe that my son acted strange every time my birthday approached, he was just afraid to stay in my room, which seemed a little strange to me, but he refused to give me an explanation. Just 1 day before this date I started with my insistence, but he refused to give me answers, so I waited until he told me what was going on, so when I didn't receive an answer I told him to go to sleep with his mother.

I had started to read a book that had caught my attention, and I had it in PDF, so I took the opportunity to read a little.

I started to feel thirsty, so I decided to get up, and when I realized it was already 12 o'clock when the murmurs started behind the door, but I thought it was my wife who wanted to make a joke, so I hid myself with the sheet to be the one to make the joke, when the voice of a man said:

-Do you think he's awake? I think we should wait until tomorrow.

Which I found confusing, the only man in the house was me. So I waited for them to open the door, to find out what was going on, and to be the one with the advantage of the surprise factor. But fear and doubt consumed me, and the footsteps were there, just beyond the door, when a female voice said:

-I sincerely hope you like it, it's your favorite, and I wish that at least this year if you have what you wanted so much.

It was a familiar voice, but who was it? I had no idea, but I knew who it was, when suddenly my eyes watered, the voices were my parents, but how was that possible?

I let them come a little closer, I needed to know it was real, but first they needed to be closer, so I let them come closer while I tried not to tremble. Fear was consuming me, I felt like I was already going to explode, when my father's voice said:

-I think it's time.

And it was enough to hear this to take off the sheet to see their faces, to know who those people were, but when I did I realized that there was no one. I went to check my cell phone to see how much time had passed and I could notice the birthday congratulations messages, this one had already arrived. And just at that moment I understood why my parents had to go out that night.


Thank you for reading


Traducción al Español

halloween-4537430_1920.jpg

Imagen Pixabay

Después de mucho tiempo siempre quise volver al lugar donde crecí, es un lugar muy bonito, pero volver siempre fue difícil porque cuando lo haces te vienen muchos recuerdos que te hacen sentir que algo dentro de ti se desmorona. Pero al ver que has tenido una buena educación y una vida tranquila, sabes que la familia que has creado se lo merece.

Cuando tenía 10 años mis padres fallecieron y tuve que mudarme con mis tíos a la ciudad, y aunque fui feliz allí siempre quise trabajar hasta volver a mi CASA.

Después de mucho trabajo sentí que era el momento adecuado, mi mujer y mis dos hijos se mudaron a la casa de mi infancia. Un bonito lugar en el campo, tranquilo, y algo apartado, pero era necesario huir del cansancio de la ciudad, era el momento de encontrar algo de paz.

Ya teníamos 4 años allí, y siempre pude observar que mi hijo se comportaba de forma extraña cada vez que se acercaba mi cumpleaños, simplemente tenía miedo de quedarse en mi habitación, lo que me parecía un poco extraño, pero se negaba a darme una explicación. Justo 1 día antes de esta fecha empecé con mi insistencia, pero se negaba a darme respuestas, así que esperé a que me dijera qué pasaba, así que al no recibir respuesta le dije que se fuera a dormir con su madre.

Había empezado a leer un libro que me había llamado la atención, y lo tenía en PDF, así que aproveché para leer un poco.

Empecé a sentir sed, así que decidí levantarme, y cuando me di cuenta ya eran las 12 cuando empezaron los murmullos detrás de la puerta, pero pensé que era mi mujer que quería hacer una broma, así que me escondí con la sábana para ser yo quien hiciera la broma, cuando la voz de un hombre dijo:

-¿Crees que está despierto? Creo que deberíamos esperar hasta mañana.

Lo cual me confundió, el único hombre en la casa era yo. Así que esperé a que abrieran la puerta, para saber qué pasaba, y ser yo quien tuviera la ventaja del factor sorpresa. Pero el miedo y la duda me consumían, y los pasos estaban allí, justo al otro lado de la puerta, cuando una voz femenina dijo:

-Espero sinceramente que te guste, es tu favorito, y deseo que al menos este año si tengas lo que tanto deseabas.

Era una voz conocida, pero ¿quién era? No tenía ni idea, pero sabía de quién se trataba, cuando de repente se me aguaron los ojos, las voces eran mis padres, pero ¿cómo era posible?

Dejé que se acercaran un poco más, necesitaba saber que era real, pero primero tenían que estar más cerca, así que dejé que se acercaran mientras intentaba no temblar. El miedo me consumía, sentía que ya iba a explotar, cuando la voz de mi padre dijo:

-Creo que es el momento.

Y bastó escuchar esto para quitar la sábana y ver sus caras, para saber quiénes eran esas personas, pero cuando lo hice me di cuenta de que no había nadie. Fui a revisar mi celular para ver cuánto tiempo había pasado y pude notar los mensajes de felicitación de cumpleaños, este ya había llegado. Y justo en ese momento entendí por qué mis padres tuvieron que salir esa noche.


Gracias por leer

Sort:  

You created a wonderful atmosphere in this story, @griviart. There is mixed together a sense of fear and nostalgia. Revisiting a childhood home where the narrator lost his parents sets the scene for an extraordinary event. Though the event has the suggestion of horror, there is no horror because the narrator rediscovers his parents and that feels right, not scary.

Thank you for posting this story in the Ink Well community. Please be sure to read the work of other writers in the community and share comments with them. We are urging everyone who posts in The Ink Well to take this step, going forward, to ensure our community members are supporting one another. (We also have this in The Ink Well community rules on our home page and in our weekly writing prompts.) Thank you!

Thank you very much! From today I will start following the rules, I am very happy that you liked it.

Well spun, with elements that keep the interest and know the end, which in the end is what we least imagined.

Thank you very much, I am very happy that you liked it.

This is a touching story, @griviart. I really enjoyed it. It was an interesting twist for him to be haunted, with love, by his long-lost parents!

@jayna Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it

Congratulations @griviart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!