My Internet Problem

in The Ink Welllast year

source

pexels-photo-5699820.jpeg

I think I'm addicted to the internet and I don't mean it as banter or bait, I mean it.
Addiction is something that happens to us at different stages in our lives and it can occur in any form - drugs, movies, candy, games, love, and so on. For me, it's the internet.

So, about two days ago I went to my bank, access bank. A local bank in Nigeria that is seriously starting to get on my nerves. And even though I was early, the bank was still heavily crowded. So I wrote my name down in a book like every other person and waited for the bank to open by 8:00 am so that I can make my complaint.
The time was still 7:23 am when I was starting to get bored and tired of waiting, then a stranger approached me. He sat next to me and was tapping away on his phone. He then looked at me and asked if I could share my hotspot with him. At first, when he asked me, in my mind I was like WTF!! NIGGA I DON'T EVEN KNOW YOU! But after examining the whole situation I decided that it might just be a prank, like the ones I see every day on TikTok and YouTube. So I smiled and acknowledge his request, I turned on my hotspot and l waited patiently for this guy to say "it's a prank look at the camera there". OMO! This guy didn't say it oo! He just used my hotspot, stood up, said thank you, and left. Ahhh! I was heartbroken, I wanted to cry, this guy used the small data that I was managing, and he did not even replace it or at least say it was a prank.
For the rest of the day I was just frowning, anybody that walked up to me to ask anything, whether it is to shift front(move forward) or borrow a biro(pen) I was just nonchalant and without response. Omo! Me I didn't have time oo for anyone to come and give me headache again.

When I arrived home, I told my friend this story, he laughed and called me a gen z, I don't even know what that means but I believe he was referring to my phone addiction. And I know you are thinking I'm probably a stingy person who likes to take and not give but it's actually the opposite. I like helping people, in any way that I can as long as it is lawful and doesn't expose me to harm of any kind. But ever since I started watching more of TikTok pranks and YouTube videos my perception of reality has been a little bit jaded. I most times think that whenever a random person comes to ask me for something there is a hidden camera somewhere waiting to paint me as the devil that society raised, so I try my best not to be caught unaware.
I don't know about you but for me, that's plenty of proof that I have been spending a lot of time on the internet, and in the coming days I'll do my best to readjust my views and squash my addiction.

Thanks for your time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @hiverdrive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks for sharing your creative nonfiction story in The Ink Well, @hiverdrive. Please do not use racial slurs in your posts in The Ink Well.

Also, please be sure to read and comment on at least two stories for each one you publish in our community. Thank you.

Ahaha. So, funny. This prank of a thing is beginning to change the way people behave in the public. I have suspected all along that most pranks are staged. It is not usually what it appears to be.

And for Nigeria banks syndrome since the CBN introduced this monetary policy, we haven't had it fair operating our accounts with them.

It's a nice read. Well done.

Don't even get me started on the bank stress it just something else. Having money and not being able to spend it😭
Thanks for reading 🥰

I see my social media streams as a reflection of me. If it not something I want in my life it will not be in my streams. I also like the fact that with YouTube I can remove videos from my watched list if I do not want more of that to show up in my recommended stream.

I never knew that option was available on YouTube, 'cause there are a lot of crap I need to stop watching and it sounds like something that would definitely come in handy😊.
Thanks for reading 🥰

Screenshot_20230313-102658.png
Either select the three vertical dots to get a menu...

Screenshot_20230313-102902.png
...or swipe sideways to get the remove button. Either way it is a two step process. 😁

I could be wrong but I think the swipe method can be done from either (left) or (right) side.

Of course you can also clear out your entire watch history...

Screenshot_20230313-103554.png
...by selecting these three vertical dots.