Running two Programs Simultaneously.

in The Ink Well4 months ago

I was in the library when I received the information that the Academic Staff Union of Universities(ASUU) had announced an indefinite suspension of University activities, I screamed, "Hell no, another strike again!"

pexels-pixabay-256455.jpg

Source

The ASUU claimed to represent the University Staff, so that all their outstanding salaries, allowances, and other packages could be provided by the Federal Government but mostly announced an indefinite Strike for their selfish interests.

One of the major effects of this strike is that a course of study ought to be completed within a reasonable period of three(3) to four(4) years might take six(6) to seven(7) years to be completed.

The strike aftermath is not always encouraging and as a result, most student drops out of university.

The reason why most student drops out of school is because most of us sponsored ourselves to the university and as a result of running around to make some money before the strike would be called off, some students ended up going astray, ladies impregnated, and lots more.

During this period, what came to my mind was to put in for a Polytechnic program since it takes two(2) years or less to be completed, and keeping myself busy with this will prevent me from engaging in activities that might make me go astray.

I successfully gained admission into the polytechnic and everything was going on smoothly.

While the ASUU strike was still on, I completed my first and second semesters in the polytechnic and I was already in my final year.

My prayer and thoughts have always been "the strike should continue" because running two programs simultaneously won't be that easy.

After about 275 days of indefinite strike, I received information that the strike had been called off.

I was "nervous" and I didn't know how I could manage running two programs at the same time.

I spoke with my mentor and he said I just have to give it what it takes.

He added that he is pretty sure that it's going to be very stressful for me and giving up on any of the programs is never an option.

I gave it my best by running the programs simultaneously and guess what happened? The examination was scheduled for the same month and as a matter of fact, about three(3) to four(4) exams clashed and at this point, I was really "nervous".

The preparations for the examinations started and I was practically reading like a madman.

pexels-cottonbro-studio-6334869.jpg

Source

I despised going into the examination hall without adequate preparation but at this point, I had to strategies and focus more on the polytechnic examination because a failed paper would amount to an extra year.

Luckily for me, those papers that clashed were later rescheduled for another day, and that I was so happy about.

I finished both examinations looking very tiny like a lizard and my eyes were red like that of a hungry lion.

After a few weeks, I received a text from the polytechnic to come check my examination results but I declined because I was very sure of my performance and I did not bother going.

A few days later, I received a call from my friend Paul at exactly 9:30 pm that the University results were out, my heart skipped and I was like "em em thanks for the update bro"

I was really "nervous" and I could not sleep till the next day.

I arrived at the school very early, looking so scared.

Paul could not hold it anymore, he said to me "Holler you are scared and your hands are checking, hope all is well"?

I replied that my performance in the just concluded examination wasn't too good and for the first time in my life, I was expecting a re-sit.

I could not check the results myself, so I had to ask Paul to help me check them.

After a few minutes, he said "Holler you passed all your papers. I replied, please check properly I don't think so. He checked again, and he said the same thing. I didn't still believe him and after checking myself I found out that I passed all the papers.

I screamed so loudly. I ran into the field and I rolled on the grass for a few seconds.

I could not hide the joy I felt that day and after a few years, I graduated from both the University and the Polytechnic.

Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

You went through a trial by fire and came out well! Your writing makes it possible to imagine the state of nerves you were in.

Thanks for the positive feedback, and amazing compliment, gratitude.

Oh, well, when the going gets tough, the tough get going. You've been on an academic rollercoaster with the ASUU strike and juggling between the university and the polytechnic. Between running between exams, the nervous anticipation of results, and the ultimate joy of success, you finally succeeded. Congratulations on your graduation.

Thanks for the kind compliment, gratitude.

you are welcome

Congratulations @holler! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Seriously ,you really took a risk that is very expensive,you are really a risk taker my man ,
I love your courage,

I wish you more luck .

Thanks for sharing

Thanks, boss man, Taking risks is sometimes cool and often leads to a beautiful destination.

Thanks for stopping by bro.

Bro, that was a very big risk you took. I can't even imagine it. That's a big one.

Wait, what if ASUU called off the strike immediately you enrolled for Polytechnic....I'm not even considering the clash in exam.

You really tried.
Respect 👏

Yeah, it was bro.

If ASUU called off the strike immediately after I enrolled for the polytechnic stuff, I would have just forego everything.

Thanks, for stopping by bro.