A Musical night (A short story - Nonfiction)

in The Ink Well5 months ago

IMG_5132.jpeg

source

Since I was a kid, I’ve always wanted to go to a musical concert. Though I never had a favorite artist then and I attended a few concerts which I didn’t enjoy that much.

Growing up as a Nigerian youth, I began to pick interest in certain things, at a certain point I could say I had a favorite food, a favorite snack, a favorite color and all that but one thing was still missing! I wasn’t a diehard fan of any artist, the only thing I was sure about was my love for Wizkid, Rema and Burna Boy! I was very sure I liked Burna more than the rest of them but regardless I couldn’t term him as my favorite.

As I got to school on a beautiful Tuesday morning all I could hear was Burna boy. I couldn't really make the most of the whispers so I decided to check Burna’s instagram page and it was right there in his story! Burna will be having a concert here in Lagos on the 8th of August! At the popular Eko hotel and suite!! Oh my God!!! I was super delighted, it was like a dream come true! I took a screenshot of the flier and I was about to send it to my best friend only to realize she had sent it to me on iMessage already! It was giving me ENERGY!!! We both knew we were going for this concert, we’d sneak out of the house if we had to, besides it was just three days away and neither of us had the money to pay for our tickets.

Luckily for us it was that time for allowance so we both had planned to pay for our tickets from our allowances even if we knew the rest of the month would be mostly breakfast and dinner! We didn’t mind. Minutes into hours and hours into days, It was August 8 already I made sure I did all I had to do during the early hours of the day, I had my beauty sleep ( purr), waited for Dinner even tho I ate so little to avoid my tummy from getting bloated, I knew I needed food for energy because I was about to go shut down Burna boy’s concert!

After Dinner I took a shower, put on one of my sexiest gowns which was a short black sleeveless gown with a slit. I matched it with a Jordan high up sneakers, a bucket hat and a white shrug just because it looked good on the dress! I ordered an Uber and picked up my best friend who lived on the next street. My Parents had traveled for business purposes and her parent’s trusted me, so it all went smooth and easy.

The concert was scheduled to start by 10pm, we got to the venue by 9:55 and the whole place was filled up! My best friend said to me; ‘‘Seems like some people have been here since 8am’’ and I laughed saying; “It’s Burna boy what do you expect?’’ We were lucky enough to get two seats for ourselves,but the concert didn’t kick off until past 11pm. Upcoming musicians were called on stage to perform, they gave their best which I really didn’t care about! The only person I wanted to see was Burna!!
After what seemed like forever, it was time for Burna to take over, I screamed my lungs out! I was so delighted to be at a concert where the musical love of my life would be performing.

We sang, danced and screamed whenever it was necessary. Burna boy is goated trust me. ‘I wish I could get to take a picture with him’ I said to my best friend, ‘not today, probably when you’re a little bit taller’ she said giggling while I acted like I didn’t hear that! Soon enough it was 4am , the concert ended and people started leaving. Personally, I was exhausted and my legs were tired from dancing so I ordered an Uber to take us home. Deep down, I wished the concert never ended!

My bestie and I would always watch the videos we recorded that night over and over again. They were good memories to hold on to and it was indeed the best night of our lives.

Sort:  

Welcome to The Ink Well!

Now that you're here, please have a look around and get to know our community. Here are a few tips for getting acquainted:

  • Be sure to read The Ink Well community rules at the top of the community home page, and check out our FAQ about The Ink Well.
  • We accept two kinds of short stories in The Ink Well: fictional stories and creative nonfiction stories.
  • You can find some great articles on fiction story writing in our catalog of fiction writing tips.
  • You can find information about what we are looking for in creative nonfiction stories in this post.

And please be sure to engage in the community by reading and commenting on the work of other community members. We ask everyone who post in The Ink Well to read and comment on at least two other stories for each one published.

Again, welcome!

Congratulations @ifeoluwaalexis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the January Hive Power Up Day
Announcing the Winners of HiveBuzz's Yearly Author Badge for 2023!
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!

Welcome to inkwell community and glad to have you around. Your story is delightful to read and you have scripted it descriptively.
Hope to see more of you around

Thank you very much😊 I’d be sure to stick around

I'm glad you two got to go :) Weren't you even worried about getting caught???

It was worth the risk😌

Definitely :) ...

!LUV

ifeoluwaalexis, wrestlingdesires sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.