An Unexpected Adventure/The Ink Well Fiction Prompt #122

in The Ink Well11 months ago


imagen.png

"Karol, I don't think it's a good idea for you to accompany us on this trip," Lemus said.

"But, father...you promised," she said, clenching her hands tightly.

"I've changed my mind," the man replied, frowning, "so, you won't go."

Lemus a reckless sailor, spent more time on the ocean, than at home, Karol was his only daughter, she had always wanted to travel with her father, he is promised her, that when she turned 15 he would take her with him.

"Why are you doing this to me?" the girl said. "You know, how much I'm looking forward to sailing with you."

"Daughter, I will keep my promise, I will take you with me on my next trip."

"I want to go now," she said, looking at the floor.

"It's my turn to go to Carabela Island, it's a very dangerous crossing, that's why I can't take you with me", explained Lemus.

Karol, very sad, retired to her room, there she locked herself in, she didn't even want to have dinner that night.

"Here daughter, take this glass of fresh milk", said Karol's Mother, while knocking on the door.

"I don't want to Mother."

"Open the door, please."

"I don't want to talk, Mother," the girl replied. "I just want to sleep."

"At least drink your milk."

Karol, got up reluctantly, her curly hair, was more tousled, than usual, her big blue eyes, reflected a deep sadness, she opened the door and her mother came in.

She opened the door and her mother came in, "Leave the milk there, Mother, I'll drink it later".

Analia, came in and said, "You must understand your father, this trip is dangerous, that's why he can't take you with him, another time, he will keep his promise".

"Those are just excuses, mother."

"Tomorrow, early in the morning he will sail, he is very sad, to leave you angry".

Karol, did not say, a single word, her Mother said goodbye to her and withdrew.

"-My father will sail tomorrow-", thought the girl. "-What if I sneak into the ship? -"

This idea, was spinning in Karol's head, suddenly, she got up, picked up some clothes, put them in a backpack, sneaked out of the house and went straight to the dock, stealthily boarded her father's boat and hid very well.

Before leaving the house, her father went to Karol's room, knocked and knocked on the door, without receiving an answer, he only said: "I love you daughter, see you when you come back", thinking that she was in the room and did not answer him, because she was still upset.

In the early morning the crew of the ship began to arrive, including Karol's father, who was the captain, hearing the footsteps, the girl went into a small closet in the kitchen.

The ship sailed without inconvenience, by mid-morning Karol, had a desire to pee, she also wanted to eat something and drink water, so when the cook left, very carefully, she came out of her hiding place, she went straight to the barrel that contained the water.

"Who are you?" said a fat, dark-haired woman.

"Shhhh, please don't make noise," Karol begged her.

"How did you get in here?"

"I did it last night, when there was no one on the boat."

"But what are you doing here?" the woman asked.

Karol, not wanting to tell him who she was, just told him, the desire she had to travel to other places and begged him not to say she was there.

"All right, I will keep your secret," she said.

The woman who was the cook, did not keep the secret and told one of the sailors, that there was a stowaway on the ship, this in turn, told other of his companions, the gossip began to roll, from one to another, until it reached the ears of the Captain.

"Martha, Martha," shouted the captain, at the doors of the small galley.

"Tell me, sir," replied the cook, a little startled.

"To my ears, the gossip has reached, that you are hiding a stowaway, in your kitchen."

The woman paled, cold sweat was coming down from her forehead, when she was about to answer, Karol, came out of his hiding place and said:

"It's not gossip, actually there is a stowaway and it's me, but it wasn't this woman who hid me, it was me, who came all the way here alone."

"Karol, what are you doing here, your mother must be distressed".

"I didn't think of that Father, I only wanted to travel on your ship," said the girl crestfallen.

The conversation was interrupted by one of the sailors:

"Sir, a pirate ship is approaching", said the boy.

"How far away is it?"

"Very close, sir."

"Let's go and see," "You guys stay here," said the captain, looking at Karol and Martha.
Arriving on deck, there was not much to do, the crew members of the pirate ship were already there, they were skeletons and faceless men, plus there was a huge three-headed snake, guarding the ship.

In a few minutes, they had bound the sailors and the captain with chains.

"They are our prisoners," said in a thick voice, the one who seemed to be the leader. "Let's go to Carabela Island," he indicated, pointing north.

Karol and Martha, felt the sudden movement of the ship and went to investigate, being discovered by one of the skeletons, they were tied up and taken to the deck, there they were tied up, along with the others.

"-We are lost -", thought the captain.

They were already close to their destination, they could tell, when they saw the huge skull-shaped mountain, suddenly the sky was filled with giant birds, grotesque looking, flying towards the ship; Some of them had riders, they were like zombies, the crew thought at first that they were allies of the skeletons, but it was not so, because these wielded, sharp silver swords, in a few minutes the skeletons and the snake were defeated.

The zombies freed the crew members from their chains, mounted the birds and took flight.

No one present there, understood what had happened, they only thanked the sky for their saviors.

"Let's go home," said the captain.

That's what they did, from that day on Karol no longer wanted to go on the boat with his father.


imagen.png

This is my Participation inThe Ink Well Fiction Prompt #122, I hope you like my publication.

The image used were made in Canva
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

imagen.png

imagen.png

Sort:  

Wow, this is so captivating. The little girl has learn that she has to listen to her parents.

That's right, she learned her lesson, thanks for commenting 🤗.

Your imagination is in overdrive here—skeletons, faceless men and zombies!
You need to watch your pronouns and be on the lookout so that you don’t mixup him/her he/she.
Thank you for sharing your story with us in The Ink Well. Please remember to support the community by commenting on other stories.

Hi, Thanks for the advice🤗

Wow, this is a good story! I would have loved to read in more detail about the fight and those otherworldly pirates, but I still enjoyed the read and was taken by surprise by their appearance. You have a great imagination. Regards.

I'm glad you liked it, I missed to tell a little more details, but I would have gone over 1000 words, greetings, thanks for reading and commenting.